Skip to content

Snackless Suffering

March 3, 2008

I didn’t mean to write another post today. I just need to say that I’m officially starving. Well, extremely hungry at least. I obviously need to incorporate snacks into my diet as well as protein (or a larger lunch).

People questioned my desire for more protein. I guess somewhere in my mind I think protein+exercise=muscles, but I think it is really just exercise+food=muscle. Also, I don’t drink milk. Mostly because I think it is gross and haven’t really drank it for as long as I can remember. I can’t sniff it and tell if it has gone bad, because it always smells bad to my nose. I used to take calcium to justify this, and probably should start again. I do eat yogurt most mornings, but milk is expensive and I hate it so it always goes bad. Knowing my diet, I assume it lacks protein, but never having checked, I could be wrong. I think I’ll take a couple days and see if I am getting enough already, as some suggested. Starting with knowing the requirements, which were harder to find than I expected. It seems 45 grams is my recommended number. Strange that this number doesn’t seem to depend on whether or not a person exercises.

Due to the great suggestions  (thanks everyone!) and then some related browsing, I’ve been ogling recipes for awhile. Oh, this is also due to some work related frustrations….. which I will discuss tomorrow.

Here are my discoveries:

I considered ignoring all the deliciousness in my cupboards at home, destroying my food budget, and trying some of the new suggestions/discoveries. However, I can wait until next weeks grocery trip. I might still stop by the store on the way home for some graham crackers + peanut butter to bring to work so I don’t run into this snackless suffering again. And some chocolate, just because.

One hour until I can leave/eat!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2008 7:39 am

    Where did you find the 45g recommendation? I occasionally add up the nutritional contents of the food I eat in a day, and I find my protein intake generally hovers around 80g.

  2. sjean permalink*
    March 4, 2008 8:11 am

    I found it buried on some government site, but I can’t seem to turn it up again. It said .8 grams per kg. So essentially I just posted my weight on my blog, ha.

    Wikipedia has the same formula, or also just says “46 for women” and cites its sources: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Protein_in_nutrition#Dietary_requirements

  3. March 4, 2008 10:05 am

    I always thought milk smelled bad, too… and then one day I got my nose in a milk jug that WAS bad – you can really tell the difference. Bad milk smells like vomit. Good milk smells strong and slightly… off… kind of sour, at least to me. But nothing like that vomit stench.

    Incidentally, I remember from my childhood that bad milk tastes pretty much like vomit, too. You’ll know if it’s not good. :(

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

