Skip to content

From -4k to +20k in one year!

April 25, 2008

Unless the markets do some crazy business next month, I shouldn’t have much trouble finally reaching 20k net worth in May!!

Let’s take a short trip down memory lane. This lovely blog started last May when I had -$4000 net worth (student loans, not consumer debt). Between June and July, I jumped into the black, and somehow networthiq.com calculated a 256% increase for making the transition. That was the most growth (based on percentage) I’ve had yet!

It seems like I’m averaging about a $2k increase each month. I’m not sure whether that trend will continue in 2008 because so much has changed this year (new job, new rent price, economy stinks), but if it does… I could end the year with a net worth of about $34k! Of course, there I go counting my chickens before they hatch, and even before then hen has laid any eggs…

Anyway, I’m excited about this. Also, I’m excited it is Friday, excited April is almost over, and excited to try out all my new recipes! By the way, I ran through the remainder of my grocery budget buying ingredients for these, and sort of forgot to set aside food for lunch and dinner next week. T and I probably will share those meals this weekend, and if I don’t ask him for a small $5+ donation for eating at the restaurant of Stacking Pennies, I’ll have to scrounge the cupboards.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2008 3:34 pm

    Spicy! That’s quite a turn around, congrats :) And happy Fridayyyyyyyyyyy

  2. April 25, 2008 3:59 pm

    Nice work! I hope I can be as fiscally productive as you…

  3. April 25, 2008 5:49 pm

    Wow, that’s an amazing jump! Congratulations!

  4. April 25, 2008 5:52 pm

    Yay! (Also, I love the random 256% increase… as if going from red to black weren’t momentous enough:) )

  5. April 27, 2008 6:58 am

    Good for you! What amazing progress! It’s really remarkable you’ve come so far in just one year!

  6. April 28, 2008 6:34 am

    Congrats! What a jump!

  7. tom permalink
    April 28, 2008 9:26 am

    That is fantastic. Keep it up!

    At this rate… saving $24,000 a year for 40 years at 8% Return, you’ll have…

    $7 Million!!!

    That’s some delicious food for thought!!!

  8. April 28, 2008 9:31 am

    Well, the net worth includes investment gains/losses, and some of it is in cash… But still, that is an amazing number!

  9. April 28, 2008 11:34 am

    That is phenomenal! You have every right to be excited about it! :)

  10. April 28, 2008 1:26 pm

    That’s a huge turnaround… congrats!! Its up and up from here on out!

    (Btw.. those foil contraptions ARE real… my cool looking Target soap dish and candle holder went kaput so I was too cheap to buy any real replacements)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 85 other followers

