Skip to content

New shoes needed

July 31, 2008

My knee started hurting again on my run last night. I’m pretty annoyed, because last time it took well over a month to get back to normal. This has made me decide to make running shoes and a strapless bra my top priorities for clothes in August. Running shoes are first.

I found a site that suggested lighter runners can use their shoes for up to 400 miles. I don’t keep a log (yet) but I doubt I’ve ran that far since I got them. Still, I didn’t buy them from a running shop and I’m not sure of the fit. When I bought them, I honestly wasn’t sure how much I’d enjoy running, so I didn’t buy the high end (nor did I buy the really cheap ones). I want to go to a real running shop, have them look at my stride, and see if I’m doing something wrong that causes pain. I found one not too far from my apartment.

In the mean time, I might see if I can get an icepack to try to speed up the healing process. I don’t want to go to the doctor unless I have to, and I feel like the pain is minor so I’ll see how it plays out. [Any thoughts from people with more running experience than me?]

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2008 7:22 am

    I’d check into a pair of running shoes from a running store. I find that a good pair of shoes fixes my knee issues. I have two pairs right now, one that’s wearing out and one that’s newer. I was wearing the old ones, thinking things were fine. Then my knee started bothering me. Put on the newer ones (same shoe), and voila.

    Totally worth the expense.

    I track at runningahead.com. Great site. The guy actually sold his running log to RunnersWorld.com, so you can use it there, but it’s only updated at runningahead.com.

    Do some websearches on running and knee pain to get descriptions and treatment/prevention ideas. I’d bet it’s either runner’s knee or illiotibial band syndrome. Neither of which is a horrible thing.

  2. July 31, 2008 7:31 am

    Thanks Megan! I did look up knee pain last night. Maybe runners knee, but it doesn’t seem I run enough miles for that to be the most likely cause (unless, perhaps, I have some sort of problem with my stride). I’ll check out the site.

  3. July 31, 2008 8:50 am

    To save some money put ice in a plastic baggie and cover it with a towel. It will definitely help.

    Also I am always willing to pay full price for running shoes (almost the only time I do) because the service you get from a running store is awesome. The shoes have to fit and leave enought room for your feet to swell to avoid injuries. I agree with Megan, totally worth the expense.

  4. July 31, 2008 9:03 am

    In college I went to a running store and had them look at my feet and recommend a shoe. Then I went and bought the shoe somewhere else (hey, I was a broke college kid!). Now I kind of know what I need to buy, so I just get variations on the same shoe over and over.

    As far as the knee pain goes, if it’s constant it’s probably your shoes. You can try to combat it by running on softer surfaces (grass or sand) since that’s much easier on the knees (although worse on the ankles).

  5. July 31, 2008 9:10 am

    @asgreen – I agree with you guys! I’m now serious enough about running that it is time to do the running shop.

    @pa – I will probably buy from the store the first time, then buy the same shoe over and over. Makes sense. I can’t run on sand, it’s just too hard right now. Maybe as I get stronger.

    Also, read up some more and figure I need to add more quad exercises to help balance… You would think running would be a simple sport.

  6. July 31, 2008 10:38 am

    I just spent a bunch for shoes at a running shoe this week.

    I usually know what type of shoe I want and buy the model year after year.

  7. July 31, 2008 4:08 pm

    I am experiencing a similar pain in my left knee when running, also. Very frustrating to have to stop running altogether until I can figure out what is wrong. In the meantime, I am doing some light strengthening exercises (squats, leg lifts) and a lot of stretching. I will probably do this for about a month. The chiropractor I see said the best way to prevent knee pain is to run on a soft surface, so I may have to change my route when I get back to it, at least to start. Good luck!

  8. July 31, 2008 8:47 pm

    Do do go to a shop that will look at your stride and help you find the right shoes. It makes an enormous difference. I was having hip pain from running and went to a store that actually had an orthopedist who trained the sales people. They had me try on a ridiculous number of shoes and compare them (3 pairs at a time), whittling down the choices until I found the best fit. By the time I’d narrowed it down to the last two pairs the difference was subtle but it was very clear which was the right choice. Not sure I’d still be running if it weren’t for those shoes …

    I’d recommend, at the very least, trying on alot of shoes to see what different brands and styles (and sizes & widths) feel like, and do yoga. The upside of my injury was that it got me to try yoga while was recovering & its made a huge difference in my flexibility and balance.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

