Skip to content

Things aren’t adding up

August 25, 2008

The numbers aren’t adding up very well this month.  I think I said that last month!  The next couple months are looking (financially) bleak as well.

I pretty much demolished my car fund with a new tire and new front breaks. You don’t mess around when your breaks make noise, but I hated swiping my card.

I also finally got my hair cut, and regret not going to a less expensive place.  The stylist did a good job, I probably could have got by paying half as much.

Earlier this month, there were the running shoes for $140, then vacation, for $450 of this month’s budget.   We also have been buying a lot of camping/backpacking gear.  A lot.  Probably over $200 this month (!) and I still am eying a camping pad.  Backpacking, once you have the basics, does not have to be an expensive hobby.  You can make it expensive by always buying the latest gear and gadgets, but you don’t have to.  Unfortunately, getting the basics is not cheap, and you can’t buy the lowest quality.  After the pad, I still need a better backpack and footwear, but I’m still unsure of what I want, and I don’t want to buy wrong.  That will be the end of it, and I’m thinking of putting it on my birthday/Christmas wish list.

Still, we should be able to fulfill our wanderlust by exploring the wilderness of the west coast for the next couple years.  There are a ton of places we could drive to within a day, and we both love camping, and are really excited about backpacking.  We are doing a trial overnight trip this weekend (excited!), our first attempt at camping without a car!

This is total bad pf blogger ethics, but I’m thinking of skipping or lowering my Roth IRA contribution for September to help balance things out.  I will make up the difference with the extra paycheck in December, or sooner.  I haven’t committed to that yet, but I can’t stand to operate with my travel fund in the red, and I shouldn’t need to buy any more tickets/hotels Oct-December.   Another option is to slash the e-fund contributions for the month, or see what happens with my student loan.  I don’t think the deferment (0% interest) kicks in until November.  There really aren’t any actual spending areas that could be cut too much at this point.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2008 7:49 am

    REI is having a great sale right now! If you live close to one, you might want to check it out. I think there is a little bit of the sale on their webpage too.

    I also like to purchase stuff on Moosejaw (moosejaw.com) because you get 10% back in rewards points. I bought my hiking boots, and was able to get a free stuff sack for my sleeping bag (or you could let your points accumulate).

  2. August 26, 2008 7:59 am

    Thanks! We actually were at REI this weekend. Um, twice… Hehe. I’ll check out moosejaw.com when I’m ready for another major purchase

  3. August 26, 2008 8:35 am

    I’ll admit to having adjusted the retirement contributions to make things work better … I’ll also admit to feeling really guilty about it! Also, when you’re ready to look around at stuff, BF always keeps tabs on steepandcheap.com because they tend to rotate items on sale or clearance.

  4. August 26, 2008 8:51 am

    Ugh, I think August has been a month of financial epic fail for me too.

    Cut the Roth contributions. You can make it up by the end of the year, and even that would be too hard, you have until April of next year anyway.

  5. sfordinarygirl permalink
    August 26, 2008 9:59 am

    Ditto to what everyone else said – You have until April of next year – extra paychecks or money will come in to cover the shortfall. You’ve done a great job so far of saving and budgeting and should give yourself some breathing room.

  6. nickydue permalink
    August 26, 2008 10:07 am

    I would actually say that you should slash the e-fund savings for the month. When I overspend during a month, this is what I do. I know that you have until April of next year to make up for the Roth, but I think that getting the money in there sooner is better. All the time that the money’s not in the Roth (even if it’s just a month or two) is time that the money isn’t working it’s compoud interest magic.

  7. August 26, 2008 11:54 am

    Sounds like your August was about like mine! We had to buy about $2,000 worth of furniture for a new apartment.

    *Singing the August financial blues… :(

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

