Skip to content

Overheard: Desparation

August 28, 2008

An unemployed man who off has a PhD and 13 years of experience:  “Well, I’m making about $110 now, but that isn’t necessarily firm.  I’m really just hoping to find a job I like.”

Ok, I guess in this economy, that isn’t awful to admit.

Except he followed up with:  “Maybe at least $80k.”

Woah.  What?  You are willing to take what entry level PhD’s are (probably) making??  And even if you ran your budget numbers and calculated that you could live on $80k, and you decided for yourself you would accept as low as $80k… don’t tell them that!  Especially not at the phone screen stage!

Yikes.  I think he was caught off guard, but you should be prepared to answer that question (or rather, to deflect it if possible).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2008 9:35 am

    What is the job? Entry level phd’s don’t make close to 80k where I work, but I work at a university so it may be different.

    But I agree, don’t let off the lowest amount you will take in the beginning, espeically not in a phone interview.

  2. August 29, 2008 9:38 am

    In industry, not academia. High cost of living area. Entry level B.S. earn $65k-ish, masters over $70… so I extrapolated upwards.

  3. August 29, 2008 10:36 am

    Yikes. This is exactly the attitude and reflex I don’t want to have when I get to the interview stages.

  4. September 2, 2008 8:50 am

    Ah, I see! Makes so much more sense now. =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

