Skip to content

$1 per a run

December 3, 2008

Running has been more difficult ever since daylight savings time (combined with winter) forced the sunset to be ridiculously early. For the life of me, running in the morning does not work, and running right after work has become right around 5 pm. I try to get in a little early twice a week so I can leave a little early and run before dusk, when I begin to feel like everyone is out to get me. Treadmill? Yeah, I have access to one, but I don’t use it. I could start though….. It just isn’t the same!

The personal finance aspect of this thought is, I decided I could slowly update my music collection, one song at a time, by buying $.99 song from iTunes each time I finish a run. I very rarely exceed 3 times a week, so at the most, this will run me $12/month, which is totally doable. I buy like 2 songs a year, so I’m in need of some fun new tunes. Bonus, I can buy upbeat songs perfect for a motivating workout, make a playlist that lasts how long I want to run, and enjoy! I generally listen to podcasts (nerd!), but working out to podcasts really doesn’t work well (yes I tried).

For those looking for some free beats to run to, there is a PodRunner podcast that offers free music, but I want to update my songs anyway.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2008 8:45 am

    That sounds like a great motivator for working out. Thanks for the tip!

  2. December 3, 2008 10:27 am

    I wish iPods played radio stations without paying for add-ons. Usually afternoon “rush hour” music is so energized it gets me amped anyway :D

  3. December 3, 2008 1:43 pm

    I had to laugh at your trying to work out to podcasts. I can see how that might not really mesh with the whole working-out theme. You know something that goes with a brisk walk, though? And I must be on a language kick: Italian podcasts have been kinda fun. Can’t say that I’m actually learning anything but their theme music is so jaunty! and the narrators so cheerful!

  4. Sarah permalink
    December 3, 2008 2:01 pm

    You might also want to look at the KEXP podcasts. Especially their Music that Matters one. They are about on hour long and the variety is amazing. I also second Podrunner.

  5. December 3, 2008 9:51 pm

    @Revanche – It is amazing all the free learning available these days! I started an Italian podcast this past summer. I think i made it to lesson 2 or so…

    @sarah – thanks for the tip on KEXP, I’ll definitely check it out!

  6. December 5, 2008 6:51 am

    That is a good motivator. I may try it out :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

