Skip to content

Work Perk

December 4, 2008

Because I was so great in helping out with recruiting this fall (easy to do when it abruptly gets cut short), I got 100 points, which I’ve redeemed for $75 in Nordstrom gift cards (I’m thinking new wallet/wristlet, mine vanished) and $25 for Barnes and Nobel, which I’m hoping to use for part of someone’s Christmas gifts.  Someone must want a book, right?

I wonder why they can’t just give us cash?  At my last job they used to hand out visa gift cards every now and then for excellent work.  Actually, I do think that my work does have some sort of cash reward, but maybe you have to do more than read a few resumes to get them.

I had my performance review earlier this week and everything went really well.  I suffer from anxiety about whether I’m doing a good enough job, but the feedback was extremely positive.  Confusingly enough, salary reviews aren’t for a few months, and it seems promotions are sort of whenever.  So, hopefully soon?  (Though we know that in the mega corporate world, “soon” is actually not very soon at all.)  Of course reviews feed into both of these things, but for such a structured process, it really isn’t that intuitive (to me).

PS:  T just called and asked if I won the lottery.  Apparently there is a typo in my networthiq.  As if I’d win the lottery and notify him through my blog.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2008 8:30 am

    Might be a tax thing. If they gave you money, I assume it’d be taxable income.

  2. December 4, 2008 8:33 am

    @MM – Actually, this was reflected on a pay stub as $100 value, and they also gave tax assistance on it.

  3. December 4, 2008 11:07 am

    Actually, I’ve gotten cash awards and I find I like the points better. A lot of the stuff they offer is discounted (meaning you get something for less “points” than you’d pay in dollars), although the selection of course isn’t perfect. And half the money is taken up by taxes (no tax assistance).

    Congrats on the performance review!

  4. December 4, 2008 2:11 pm

    Boys make me laugh.

    Congrats on the good performance review.

  5. December 4, 2008 6:31 pm

    Congrats on the good review and gift cards – I love unexpected boons like that :)

  6. December 4, 2008 10:45 pm

    Hooray! :) We get monthly gift cards and occasionally other ones as well. No points – but the company does give annual bonuses! Gotta love those perks.

  7. December 5, 2008 8:32 am

    I’m assuming a tax thing too.

    I wish they’d had me a wad of cash too but… apparently it’s tax deductible for corporations as a gift and you need proof (aka a cheque)

  8. December 5, 2008 8:36 am

    And I clicked too fast on Submit before telling you: CONGRATS! A fantastic review for your performance is well deserved and you should keep a good record of what was said so that when salary increases and whatever else comes around, you have proof to back it up!

  9. December 5, 2008 9:03 am

    @FB – it isn’t taxes though. I should have mentioned they made a pay stub and gave me tax assistance as though they had gave me $100. Maybe they get a bargain on select gift cards and items.

    Also, thanks! The review process is extremely formal and what was said is documented in their system, where it will live for eternity. :)

  10. Amanda permalink
    December 8, 2008 2:18 pm

    I actually do think it’s a payroll rule vs a tax rule. When I worked in HR we had to record any gift card amount even if it was only for 5 dollars. The difference is that with a gift card it is consider a gift(still taxed) versus if they give you cash which is a taxable income. Which if they give them out frequently would increase your take home pay vs a taxable gift contribution.
    At least I think this is the rule behind it.

  11. December 8, 2008 2:24 pm

    @Amanda – that makes total sense, thanks for clearing it up!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

