Skip to content

2009 Goals, v1.0

December 10, 2008

I’ve seen a bit around the pf blogs about 2009 goals, so I guess it isn’t too early to plan them.  I’ve had mine sketched out for quite awhile, but it seemed premature to post them in October… Due to a multitude of other unknowns*, these goals are a bit of a shot in the dark.  The numbers will likely change, but the core ideas will be the same.

2009 Goals

Retirement

  • Max out Roth IRA by contributing a fixed amount each paycheck (same, except changing from monthly budgeting to per paycheck budgeting for Roth IRA only)
  • Contribute 10% in 40k (up from 8%)

Savings

  • Increase car fund by $5000 (currently at $370)
  • Start “Long Term Travel Fund” and get balance to $1500 (not enough, but a good start)
  • Maintain Efund up to at least $16k by end of year (will be about $15k by start of year)
  • Increase Student Loan Account by $1000 (currently about $1500)

Career/Education

  • Continue towards M.S. taking 3-4 classes (might take the summer off, because that sounds fabulous)
  • Be proactive about job/career (quite vague…  Perhaps should define this more clearly…)

Life

  • Camping on Catalina (spring break?)
  • Big Sur (summer vacation?)
  • Sespe Wilderness area
  • Run a half marathon (probably not), or at least, keep up running (probably).
  • Visit friend in Portland before she moves back to the Midwest
  • Mt Whitney?  T really wants to do this, but I don’t know if we’ll have the time to devote to training this year.  He’s more optimistic.
  • Move to new apartment

Those are my general plans.  Once I get into 2009, into my new apartment, figure out my new rent, and see how my health choices affect my take home pay… I’ll play around with the numbers.

(*Unknowns include:  Hoping to move in January, hope to have T move in with me in march/april/may, different health care costs, hopefully a raise, hopefully not laid off, and at least one major expense that I’m not discussing just yet.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2008 10:07 am

    One thing I definitely want to do before I leave California is to hike Catalina – Two Harbors to Avalon – and then stay at a fancy hotel in Avalon & experience the nightlife.

    I started making my 2009 budget, and it’s full of round numbers and even percentages. I’m guessing this will not be true after January 1st.

  2. December 10, 2008 12:57 pm

    I love Big Sur, we went camping there a few years ago. There were some big fires in that area last year, I wonder what it looks like now. I like how your goals aren’t just financial, I’ve only worked on making financial goals so far. I need to find a few “life” type goals to throw into the mix. Where are you looking for an apt (I live in LA too). I’m curious what rent is like right now.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

