Skip to content

Giving myself a break in December

December 12, 2008

I intentionally set really high budgets for restaurants and entertainment this month.  I’m not going to be stingy.  If my friends want to do lunch, I’m eating.  If they want to go out, I’m going.  I’m also willing to exceed my gift budget if I’m inspired.  Really, I went into the month knowing that it would be ok if I didn’t stay on budget.  And if I do, that’s neat.   I am giving myself a break.

Luckily, both my gas and grocery budget are going to be absurdly low (what is gas at?  $1.60?), and I’ve been crazy-anxious about school, which causes me to go on a starvation diet.  It really is a bad habbit, but food is so unappetizing.  I’ve been buying sandwhiches and living on cereal.  I promise (myself) to improve next month.

Hey, check out my beautiful progress bars on the right.  I’m almost there!  I probably won’t REALLY be done with my efund until after I’m settled into my new apartment (still totally not figured out), but that is probably my biggest (financial) accomplishment since I graduated.  Contributing to retirement is important, but… having a cash buffer provides so much peace of mind!

Exams are tomorrow, and I think I’ll do well enough.  I probably definitely won’t get 100%, I hope I can beat the averages, and I hope I can get a A’s.  But if not, I’ll at least get B’s, and life will go on.

PS – If you requested a Pinecone referral and haven’t got it, expect it sometime this weekend.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2008 6:45 am

    Good luck on exams, and congrats on those status bars!

  2. December 13, 2008 7:47 am

    Where do you find the nifty status bars? I wanted to add some to my blog but didn’t see where you get the code. I tend to do the opposite in December, put myself on both a strict budget and a diet. Otherwise I load up the credit cards and gain 10 pounds, it’s ugly. Good luck with finals and the apt hunt, are you using westside rentals or doing the old drive the neighborhood?

  3. December 13, 2008 9:31 am

    Good idea. I will be doing a bit of this as well… still have to buy some Christmas gifts and I’m going home to the Northwest for a week and a half to spend time with old friends and family! We’ve worked hard all year… a break is great. :)

  4. December 13, 2008 10:10 am

    I like your style. Look- it’s December; you’ve worked hard. Enjoy some time with friends and family. We may be a little more loose on our budget as well. Every once in awhile is sure doesn’t hurt to splurge.

  5. December 14, 2008 4:02 pm

    @Miss M – If you would like to see how someone (me, or anyone) made them, you can go to your browser tool bar and click “view” then “page source”. That should show you the code, just search for “emergency fund” or whatever.

    The apartment hunt isn’t so much a hunt, but if it does have to become one I think I’d try craigslist, then maybe westside rentals. Driving around might work too, i wish more places would list the rent price and the phone #

    @trevor and Money maus – I just don’t want to stress myself out about money this month. I can afford christmas break!

  6. December 15, 2008 10:39 am

    Now I don’t feel so bad about my end-of-the-year malaise – it seems like everyone is doing it!

    I wish I could not eat due to stress. My SOP is eating everything in sight and then baking cookies once all the rest of the food is gone.

    Hope the exams went well! I have my last one tonight, and I just can’t wait for it to be over.

  7. December 15, 2008 6:50 pm

    I think it’s awesome you can give yourself a lot of leeway this month and know it won’t hurt.
    Hope you had a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

