Skip to content

Christmas shopping has begun!

December 16, 2008

I finally started my Christmas shopping, and plan to do a little more tonight. I forget how expensive Lush is, but I did find a pre-wrapped $12 gift for T’s sister, some facial cleanser for, um, me, and two soaps for about $10 each. I’ll have them on hand in case my two high school girl friends bring gifts this year. But I’m really hoping to add them to my sister’s gifts instead.

I’m flying home (well, to my sister’s home) tomorrow night (!!!), and will do some power shopping on Thursday for my family, as we are having our first “Christmas” on Friday. I’m not a very good power shopper, but it is what has to be done. Oh procrastination….

My hometown made the national weather news this week for being ridiculously cold. Usually those cold spells don’t hit until mid-February or so, but I guess I’m just lucky. Time to break out the winter gear! California has “a different kind of cold”, or that is what I’ve been told. Yes, the kind of cold that really isn’t all that cold, but when you are spoiled 350 days I year… I guess it can be called cold.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2008 11:14 am

    See, people always say that about California, that it doesn’t get that cold. It snowed in Malibu last year! It went down to 44 last night, and when you live in a poorly insulated apartment with no heater, it’s cold!

    We may not get down to below freezing, but it’s not like we live in Hawaii!

  2. December 16, 2008 11:21 am

    @pa – i’m not saying I’d go without a heater! But it doesn’t get THAT cold, so cold that going outside is painful!

  3. Bonnie permalink
    December 16, 2008 12:41 pm

    44 seems balmy compared to where I live right now. :) I am jealous! But you’re right–44 degrees is still way colder than how people imagine California to be year-round.

  4. December 16, 2008 12:48 pm

    It was freezing this morning, one of the dogs will only go outside if you are out with him. I was ready to let him pee in the house just so I didn’t have to go outside. I’m a wimp, 14 years of living in LA will do that to you. Good luck with the christmas shopping and have fun with the family!

  5. December 16, 2008 5:40 pm

    I am unabashedly one of those people who claim that it’s cold right now. It’s COLD. When I can do dragon-breath (uh…when you can see your breath streaming from your nostrils….that’s a little embarrassing to admit) it’s COLD. But y’know, I also realize I’m a bit of a wimp. Call it lack of personal insulation.

    Yay for the X-mas shopping, I’ve only just gotten a little done today.

  6. December 17, 2008 6:50 am

    @ Revanche: “dragon breath”? LOL :) I know what you mean! Utah, where I’m at right now, is SO COLD!

    1 degree last night was the low! That’s right- ONE!

    Gotta love winter!

  7. El Cheapo permalink
    December 20, 2008 12:18 am

    This is my third winter in LA but the first one I can remember having to scrape frost from my car in the morning. Can’t complain though, having literally been snowed in year after year living in Chicago and oh yeah, that cold wind that takes your breath away. A few co-workers who live in high desert were snowed in though, they kept sending me pictures of their houses dusted with snow. Ha!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

