Skip to content

Homemade gifts

December 21, 2008

I’m surrounded by index cards, used up glue sticks, and little slivers of cut up paper. My grandmother passed away a few years ago, and my mom stumbled upon several index cards of recipes in a cookbook. She’s been meaning to share them with the family, and she decided this year for Christmas, she would get them together and give them out.

Her plan was to photocopy the 4×6 cards, cut them into 4×6 again, glue them to index cards, laminate them, and then punch a hole and tie a ribbon. It is a really good gift, and I’m sure they will be a hit. I’m excited to have my grandma’s recipe, and even if I have a hard time reading it, it is really special to see her writing again. It was a really good idea.

Except for the implementation kind of fell flat.

First, she is making 20 of them. My dad comes from a family of 9 children (my grandma was one of 18!), and then there are 8 grandchildren that are old enough for them. Plus 3 extras… Just in case.

Second, when I say “she is making” it turns out that “I am making”, at least, so far. I’m doing it out of the goodness of my heart (and when was the last time you used a glue stick? Kind of fun!) and because she’ll never get them done on her own.

Last, have you ever worked with laminating paper? It’s freakin’ hard to deal with, and my dad nixed the idea after two attempts. The new (better) plan is to simply put the index cards into a cute 4×6 photo album, and if the recipient chooses to laminate, it is their own headache!

I’ve been working on them for hours. Twenty copies of each index card (front and back), then my dad and I cut them while watching football. They aren’t even close to being done!

The total cost is pretty cheap: $22 for (discarded) laminate paper, $5 for index cards, undetermined costs for 200 sheets of paper and ink, and now, a few dollars each for the photo albums. But man, what a pain in the butt!

This doesn’t seem worth it (to me) from a financial perspective. I suppose I’m just whining, because it is pretty cheap for 20 presents. But more so than saving money, I know how happy everyone will be to get them. That is the real value of homemade gifts.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2008 9:53 pm

    I have never done a home-made gift, unless you count putting pictures in picture frames! I am not artsy/creative in the slightest. But every year, my Mom always tells me: “I like home-made gifts.” Ha! She got all my pottery from school when I was younger.

    But yes, you’re right, they ARE cheaper! ;)

  2. December 22, 2008 4:38 pm

    Oh man, so time intensive! It’s a really cute idea … too bad there were so many of them! I think I might have tried for scanning and printing, but that has its own pitfalls with clarity and such.

  3. December 22, 2008 6:56 pm

    Yeah, halfway through we started brainstorming all sorts of better ways to do it! :)

  4. December 23, 2008 4:01 pm

    Nice! I wish we were as creative. That type of gift goes a long way!

    Good for you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

