Skip to content

Christmas gifts (revisited)

December 23, 2008

I’ve spent $360 on gifts so far this month, according to my not-so-precise estimates in my budget spreadsheet.  My biggest present is usually for T, but we agreed to exchange gifts when we reunite in L.A. on the 31st.  I still have no idea what to get him, but I’m estimating around $75.

I’m pretty happy with that.  I spent more than planned on a couple, and less on a couple others, so it ended up about a wash.  No one really was craving anything expensive this year, and everyone was really happy with their gifts.  I know this because my immediate family celebrated Christmas early, due to my 8.8 month pregnant sister who was unable to travel for the holidays.  We’ll be spending real Christmas with my extended family.

Also, I got pretty much everything on my wish list, some of which have been on m “I want” list since May:  A new blank (super cute) cardigan, new white Pumas, a food processor, a cute scarf to spice up my plain solid shirts, a backpacking book, a yoga DVD, and a new wristlet (mine was lost!).  My parents were too generous this year, but they usually are for Christmas.  I’m thankful.

My school also gave me a gift–two A minuses!!  I was really hoping for an A in my easier class, but I must have made some mistakes on the final.  Oh well–I’ll take it!  I don’t plan to get a PhD, so as long as I graduate with a respectable GPA, I’ll be happy.  Next quarter I can focus on a single class (and work), so maybe I can improve.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2008 11:43 pm

    Well done on your grades! Working, living life, and doing everything else that keeps you busy makes it tough to keep up on your grades. Just keep doing well because you never know…

    You may need a fantastic GPA later on!

  2. December 24, 2008 10:23 am

    Have a wonderful holidays, congrats on the grades.

  3. December 24, 2008 2:03 pm

    Good job on those As! Hope you have a great rest of your vacation.

  4. El Cheapo permalink
    December 24, 2008 2:05 pm

    Happy Holidays! I’ve spent less this Christmas on gifts, not due to fiscal hardship really, but maybe some combination of the gloomy economic mood, torrential rain and cold in SoCal, longer hours at work draining my shopping fervor, g/f currently out of the county and not asking to go shopping, etc.

    For the first time in history, I used one early Christmas gift to purchase another. My sweet parents gave me two $50 Target giftcards, $30 of which I used immediately for filling apartment needs. The other $70, well… let’s just say that it went towards another immediate cause (my sweetie’s GPS) which she’s been begging for for weeks. Ha!

  5. December 29, 2008 12:15 pm

    Sounds like your year is ending well! A new family baby, empty wishlist, great bf AND good grades all sound wonderful :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

