Skip to content

I don’t want to hear about it

February 23, 2009

Whenever I hear anything about the economy, the stimulus package, the Dow, layoffs or even Obama, I immediately switch the radio from NPR to music.  I don’t care what kind of music, anything but talking about this.  I’m protecting my sanity and happiness,  because all listening to news does is make me worry.

I don’t want to see your Facebook status about the stimulus, nor an MSN name stating that the country is going to hell in a hand basket, with too many exclamation points.  (At least levity to the sentiment and say “where are we going, and why am I in this hand basket!?”)   Unless you are going to be some kind of political activist and actually do something, or unless I am voting in the near future in a way that can affect this, I just don’t want to hear your opinions on whether or not you think this is a good idea.  Last week, Ramit took the words right out my head and composed them into an articulate and pointed blog post in a way I never could:  Why your opinion on the stimulus plan doesn’t matter.

[On a similar note, my dad recently started told me about how the San Andreas fault is ready for a huge quake, and Mt St Helen's is going to erupt take out the Midwest.  I asked him what the point was of knowing this?  There is no actionable information (corporate speak).]

Almost any action that is taken, including taking no action, will be criticized.  No one really has the answers (scary).  All the options seem pretty bleak.  Yet, I remain I’m optimistic that we will pull through.  Because I don’t know what else to do, and optimism seems like the most rational choice.

If you have an opinion that suggests that my personal actions are incorrect, maybe I want to hear it. (Probably still, no.)  If you just want to tell me this stimulus is a horrible idea, don’t bother.   You need to start a blog. If there are readers who will read the minutia of my financial life (thanks guys!), there are people out there who will listen to a random guy’s/girl’s opinion on the economy.

In the meantime, I will be (cautiously) optimistic…  or I will use every cent I have towards a bunker in Montana and stock it with guns, food, ammo and wine.  [But what about Mt. Saint Helens?  Maybe Texas?  Is it safe there?]

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2009 7:13 am

    Sometimes all the doom and gloom news makes for a self fulfilling prophecy, they call it talking the economy down. I can handle some amount of bad news, I have to tune out when they start saying we’ll never recover from this. That is too depressing for me, the tales of people preparing for the breakdown of society are a little much.

  2. February 23, 2009 7:37 am

    Yes Miss M! I agree!! I often wonder how much of this could have been avoided with a little more positive media coverage (or just not as negative).

    Moving on though…I find myself doing the same thing often. I try to keep myself informed, but I don’t need to hear everyone say the same thing over and over again.

  3. February 23, 2009 7:45 am

    THANK GOD someone said it.

    I almost wanted to post about it but I thought “Nah, I’m going to get tasered in my sleep by a pissed off, unemployed worker who thinks I’m not taking it seriously when in fact I am”.

    Fear mongering I say.

    I’m sticking on the side of positivity!

  4. February 23, 2009 8:42 am

    I limit myself to 10 minutes a day and sometimes even that’s too much. I also find myself turning away from doom and gloom blogs.

  5. February 23, 2009 9:36 am

    I’m with you on the optimism. There is not doubt in my mind that we will pull out of this and in the meantime we just need to continue living. However I do enjoy listening to stuff (but I limit myself to NPR), more because I’m learning so much about the financial world and economics than because I want to hear the gloom and doom.

  6. February 23, 2009 10:18 am

    I, too, am SO tired of all the negative press that’s out there. I’ve been watching more and more local news because the probability of something “positive” being broadcast there is substantially higher than “good news” on CNN or Fox News.

    I’m tired of it.

    But I still keep abreast to what’s going on. Yeah- it’s not comfortable, but I don’t think shutting myself off from it does any good either.

    I think I’ll actually write a letter to my congressman for the first time. :)

  7. February 23, 2009 10:30 am

    Yep, I’ve stopped listening to NPR and am trying to avoid the news reports as best I can. Yes, I know all the doom and gloom projections, depressing stats, etc.; we all do. I’ve reached negativity saturation, so I’m even skipping/just skimming blog posts that are about the economy.

    Yeah, I’ve been thinking Texas, myself.

  8. February 23, 2009 11:49 am

    i agree. i like to have a general idea of what’s going on (state of the stimulus, companies going bust, mass layoffs, etc.), but i tend to skip the analysis about the neverending doom. things will turn around eventually. and probably a lot faster if people weren’t bombarded daily with warnings of the coming apocalypse.

  9. tom permalink
    February 23, 2009 7:46 pm

    I going back to living under a rock. It was much quieter there.

  10. February 24, 2009 10:48 am

    @everyone – I’m glad I’m not the only one.

    @the financial nut – Writing congressmen is an action I totally support if you are unhappy. Complaining on facebook about the stimulus it is something I just can’t support. :)

  11. February 24, 2009 11:24 am

    Actually, Texas is pretty good. ;) We have our personal debt struggle, of course, but the “downfall of the economy” or whatever the latest Chicken Little is saying… Yeah, not affecting me.

    My husband’s politically-inclined friend says that we are one of the few areas not experiencing the recession. Yay for Texas. Except I had been hoping to buy a house cheap at some point in this “disaster”…

  12. February 24, 2009 11:58 am

    I dunno if Texas is safer but I can guarantee it’s a whole lot warmer. Not to mention, having grown up there, I happen to like it. It’s relatively inexpensive (real estate, especially so), warm and people are friendly. What’s not to like?

Trackbacks

  1. What happened to Hope?! « QuarterLife Finances

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

