Skip to content

May Clothing Purchases

May 20, 2009

Lately I’ve been buying my clothing purchases in outfits to avoid that “now, what am I going to wear that with” moment I seem to get.  This is the outfit I wanted, but it didn’t quite fit into the $100/mo clothing budget.

WHBMI got the top ($40) and similar shoes ($12) from White House Black Market, and I picked up some black shorts from Target for $18 (rather than the $80 shorts pictured).    I skipped the necklace ($20-ish) and the bag (also $20-ish).  I have a hard time buying accessories, and I’m not sure why, since I hear how accessories can make the outfit.  [I found a 20% off coupon to get stated prices, but I did have to pay shipping & tax.]

Later, my eyes adjusted, I realized my Target shorts were actually gray (and it clearly said so on the tag), but I’m still on the hunt for the receipt.  If  I find it, I might search for some black shorts.  If not, I guess I’m stuck with gray.  I do have some black dress pants, a white casual skirt, and a back pencil skirt that the top works with, along with jeans (of course).

I also got some cheap $13 sport sunglasses this month, and somehow everything added up to just under $100 with tax and shipping, so I’m done for May.

I’m pretty happy with the purchases.  The top is of really good quality and is very pretty, and will be a nice versatile dressy piece for fun summer dates and can even be worn to work with the right cardigan.  (I’m hoping to find a short sleeved white shrug type thing, but I already own a really nice lightweight black one.)

I didn’t buy anything in April, and I don’t have any firm plans for what I might want in June.  I need/want some more dress pants (but thats just SO boring), some casual tees for hanging out, and something fun and causual and cute.  And maybe a few more things that are work appropriate.

I have the disease!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2009 7:07 pm

    Love it all!! Esp the top! :)

    Target keeps purchases in their system… You just have to show the card you paid for the item and they will refund it. (This is why I heart Target! FYI, it’s explained on their return policy online.)

    Oh shopping!!!

  2. May 20, 2009 7:20 pm

    Really? That is great news! Thanks for the tip!

  3. Bonnie permalink
    May 21, 2009 6:34 am

    The top is my fave, too.

    I have been spending WAY too much money on clothes in the past couple of months. It’s been forever since I bought clothes, though, and I’m trying to get nicer things that I love and that will last.

  4. May 21, 2009 10:55 am

    I keep wanting to buy a brand new work wardrobe for my new job — the East coast is generally much more conservative than here in California, so I probably won’t be able to get away with my faded trousers & khakis. Or so I tell myself, to justify the clothes I’m lusting over at J. Crew!

    That shirt is gorgeous, and I’m pretty sure I just caught the disease too!

  5. May 21, 2009 12:19 pm

    Yes, Target can look up your purchases if you paid with debit or credit card or by check. If you paid cash your out of luck, unless you can find the receipt. You do need to have the card you used on you for them to do the receipt look up.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

