Skip to content

May Money Updates

May 21, 2009

I didn’t do a net worth report in April, but good things are happening there, mostly due to the market.  Something happened and I was “missing” at least $100 from my budget.  I have no idea what happened, but I likely didn’t track everything perfectly.   I figure it was lost somewhere in the moving expenses, and I’m not going to worry about it.

I got my old security deposit back:  $315 out of $625. Most of the deductions were for painting, which my lease said they would do no matter what and I’d be billed if I stayed fewer than 18 months (which I did).  They also took out about $80 for cleaning, which is fine with me.  All my previous apartments I cleaned myself (and left spotless!) but it was REALLY nice to walk away without scrubbing everything down.  I’ll use the $315 that I have left over to “cover” the vanished ~$100, and top of my savings funds with the rest.

By the way, my efund is at $16,000! That is something like 10 months of expenses–I’m going to call it good for now.  My next focus is the wedding (budget details still very much TBD), a car fund, and…  Hmm?  Retirement, of course, maybe some awesome traveling, and eventually, a home.

I’m quite torn about the wedding stuff.  So far we’ve only accomplished one step of the whole process in my books to-do list:  “Announce the engagement”.  I’m not even sure we did a decent job of that either.   I’m trying very hard to plan something very very very low key.  You follow the wedding formula, and you end up with a big production and a big bill.  Which is fine, if that’s what you want (or what your mom wants).  I just don’t know.  I’m hoping the wedding fairy will come up with something and arrage it all for me.  (“I do beleive in wedding fairies, I do! I DO!”)  If that doesn’t work out, I guess I’ll have to think about it a little more.  Everyone tells me to do what I want, which is nice, but I’m not really sure what I want.  Except marry T:)

tinkerbell

[Side note:  I watched this weeks The Hills last night and Heidi makes me puke.    "With this ring, YES! This makes up for a lot"  Uh, what?!?  I know it is for the drama, but seriously???  How exactly does any piece of jewelry make up for the fact that you have to spend the rest of your life with a douche?  Just wondering. ]

Anyway, the wedding fund currently has about $1,400 and I’m trying on some dresses this weekend.  That is WAY down the list in the order you should do stuff in, but my mom thinks that once we have the dress, it’ll everything else will fall into place.  I guess she believes in wedding fairies too.

The rest of the month should finish out on budget, depending on how many friends I meet up with back home and what we end up doing.  I also didn’t get my mom a mother’s day present yet (uh, oops) so I’ll give her something when I see her.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2009 1:04 pm

    How exciting! Wedding dress shopping! I think that would be my favorite part of wedding planning. Heck, I don’t even want a huge wedding, just a big fat white dress to look pretty in. :) Well, have fun and enjoy it :) How much are you looking to spend on a dress?

  2. May 21, 2009 2:10 pm

    Omg. I totally agree with you on the Heidi/Spencer thing. If a piece of jewelry makes up for everything, then your relationship does not have a strong foundation. Plus Spencer is indeed a total douchebag. If all of your friends and your mom don’t like the guy you’re dating/marrying, something is not right. Can we take bets on how long before they get divorced?

    Good luck with the wedding fairies! I hope they (and your mom!) help you find the perfect dress. Will we get pictures??

  3. May 22, 2009 8:03 am

    Congrats on hitting the $16k mark and reach your goal for your emergency fund.

    Trying on wedding dresses sounds like fun!

  4. Rini permalink
    May 22, 2009 8:12 am

    I had the benefit of a wedding fairy – my mom! *laugh* I planned a simple, outdoor wedding… and then discovered my family didn’t want to pay for a penny of it… So I planned an “elopement” (in jeans and bare feet) to fit my budget… and my family objected to that too… So I gave up and just showed up to what my mom planned. Whatever! ;)

    It sounds like you don’t need or want a big production, so feel secure ignoring most of the “wedding books”. Get a dress, get a minister, get rings. The minister will demand a date and time, and will probably help you decide on vows. I hear that pre-marital counseling is a Good Idea, to make sure you haven’t left any holes in your communication. (We couldn’t afford it.) You should probably invite people somehow. Registering is a fun “date”. Other than that, it’s all just gravy.

  5. May 22, 2009 8:24 am

    @Carrie – Honestly, I’m alternating between being excited for it and being nervous about it.

    @jessie – thanks!

    @meinmillions – it is amazing how the hatred of Spencer can bring so many people together! We’ll see about pictures — it is a possibility!

    @rini – my mom showed up to whatever HER mom planned (back in the 70s) for her wedding, so she’s not that into it either. haha.

  6. May 22, 2009 9:48 am

    I don’t know why, but I’ve been finding Spencer extremely loveable this season. His confused reaction to Heidi’s ex-boyfriend’s virginity was hilarious, and the therapy sessions were awesome because really, what else would you expect Spencer to do in therapy but be kind of sarcastic and sulky?

    I had a lot of fun trying on wedding dresses! Formalwear is my favorite kind of clothing, it’s a shame I go to formal events never.

    P.S. If you get in touch with the wedding fairy, tell her to call me!

  7. May 26, 2009 3:30 pm

    Here’s something I did to come up with a wedding plan/budget. Go through the whole wedding thing in your head and write down everything you think you need. These are the things you actually care about. I asked my fiance to list off anything he thought of (about 5 things, lol). Then I went through a couple checklists and added anything I should have, but had forgotten or didn’t care about….like the silly cake!

    Now I can just focus on the things on the list, anything else doesn’t matter to me. It’s much more manageable than the giant lists you see sometimes. (Aisle runner? What, so I can trip on it??)

    My plan now is to start with the really essential stuff (in other words, things actually needed to get married – place, people, officiator!) and then work outwards to less essential stuff. That way, hopefully any last minute stuff will be the least important stuff!

  8. May 27, 2009 4:03 am

    Congrats on the $16K Emergency Fund! That is awesome!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

