Skip to content

I got a wedding dress!

May 24, 2009

I don’t think it is the very first thing you are supposed to finalize, but my mom seemed really excited about doing it right away.  And it was much more fun and easier than I thought!

My mom bought it for me, which wasn’t a surprise.  It seems really weird to have my parents be paying for things for me at this stage in our lives.  I could tell she would have been insulted if I insisted on paying.

Oh, I bought the second dress I tried on!   Of course, I didn’t buy it on the spot, and we went to a few other places and tried on many many more.  But we came back later and bought it.

It wasn’t at all the style I expected to buy, but both my sisters said “that is exactly the style I thought you’d buy!”.   I assumed I’d get something very simple from the line of “beach/destination” wedding dresses.  I tried a few on and they fell flat.  I tried on some designer gowns (that we’d never have bought anyway), I tried on some others I liked.  But we kept coming back to this one!

I could have spent weeks and weeks searching for “the perfect gown” and part of me wonders if I should have.  Most things I do, I’m very analytical and like to consider every option.  I.  It feels so quick, which isn’t like me!  But I’m also glad I found something I loved so quickly!

As for personal finance:  The dress wasn’t cheap.  It was designed by the owner of the local bridal shop, and it was marked at $1200 (!).  There was some sort of “sale” on his designs, so it ended up being $900.  I bought it in a state with no sales tax (woo hoo), so that was the total bill.  My mom paid $450 as a deposit.

If it were all me, I honestly don’t know if I would have spent $900.  I’m not sure what to think about that.  But I”m glad I have the dress, and I’m glad it was so easy, and I just hope everything else is as easy (like… finding a site for a casual reception).

I tried to talk to my mom about the budget, and they are just going to pay for things as they come.  I made it clear that I expect to contribute a good portion, but she made it clear that they wanted to pay for quite a bit as well.  If I had it in town, they’d probably pay for everything (it would be less expensive).  I was hoping they’d just state a lump sum number, or specific things to pay for, but… I guess we’ll have to wing it?  (Or, I’ll secretly do a budget anyway!)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Jade permalink
    May 24, 2009 7:05 pm

    Agggh, no pictures? description? :(

  2. May 24, 2009 8:20 pm

    First of all, congrats on the wedding! So glad you found the dress you want so easily…and $900 really doesn’t seem that bad. I think under $1,000 is a good budget for a wedding dress.
    I would definitely go ahead and create a budget for the wedding/reception, then if your parents pay for something great and if not you have budgeted what you can afford to pay. Good luck!

  3. May 24, 2009 8:25 pm

    @jade – sorry, T reads the blog so that is why the description is… absent. However, I can email you a photo if you are really interested and promise not to post it anywhere! The dressing room photos really were crappy, but oh well.

    @tracy – yeah, that is very sensible. I think they will pay for quite a bit, but i still like to have numbers written down. It helps keep things from going crazy.

  4. Bella permalink
    May 25, 2009 6:11 am

    Wedding dresses sale for $100-$200 on ebay

  5. May 25, 2009 8:36 am

    @Bella – thanks for the tip! I personally didn’t want to buy a dress on e-bay. but someone on an extremely tight budget probably could find a great deal there!

  6. May 25, 2009 12:23 pm

    Email me a pic! :) Please!

    brokeinthecity at gmail dot com

    I’d love to see it!

  7. May 25, 2009 1:28 pm

    Add me to that mailing list please! :) I forgot that T reads this.

  8. Chris permalink
    May 26, 2009 6:55 pm

    We really need photo’s. The dress sounds perfect. I spent 350 on mine from Jc Penny’s (yeah who knew they had wedding dresses) in circa 1990 so your price is right for 2009 and inflation right?

  9. May 28, 2009 12:55 pm

    How exciting! I’d love to see a pic, send me one

    misformoney@gmail.com

    Are you looking at this fall for the wedding? I can’t imagine trying to plan that quickly, I always wanted a long engagement but now that I’m older I feel why wait. Of course I’m still waiting for an engagement ring… I confess that hasn’t stopped me from window shopping for dresses. I wish I could have a chi chi designer gown, but it’s not in the finances. Congrats on everything.

  10. June 3, 2009 11:28 am

    That’s great! Can’t wait to see it :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

