Skip to content

Contemplating the Big Sur Marathon

October 6, 2010

I’ve been thinking about training for and running the Big Sur Marathon ever since I read about the stunning course along the Pacific ocean.  I wanted to do it, probably before I’d ever even completed a 5 mile run.   I’ve been enjoying running and ramping up my mileage, and lately, I’ve been seriously considering signing up for the 2011 race.  My plan was to how I felt after my first half,  and see if I felt like dedicating so much of my time to running for several months.

Maybe it isn’t the best first timer marathon.  Check out the elevation profile (is that a mountain in the middle?):

The reason I want to do it is because I’m not sure I’ll run more than 1 marathon in my life, and I want to do this one.   This may (or may not) be the only year it is in driving distance.  I want to do this, despite the hills, despite the windy coast, despite the cost.  Because of this:

Unfortunately, I may have to make my decision sooner than I thought.  The course was 60% full as of last week, and the price goes up $25 at the end of this month.  This race always sells out.  Always.

My biggest concern is the increased mileage.  I’m worried that my body won’t be able to handle it, and I’ll be forced to not run due to injury.  I’d be out $135 for nothing.  I’ve been running  regularly for about 2 years, but my mileage has only been increasing since I finished school about 8 months ago.  The farthest I’ve ever ran so far is 9 miles.  I have no idea how my body will handle 20 mile training runs, topped off with base and speed training. The risk of deciding early is losing the money.  The risk of deciding late is that it will sell out.

No matter what, I’ll have to decide before it is time to start training.  My tentative plan is to see how the half marathon goes, and decide after that.  Have you ever paid for a marathon (or any other event) before you were sure you could do it?  Should I take the leap of faith?  Or should I proceed with caution?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2010 5:27 am

    Hey man, in the case of something long term, GO FOR IT. The fact that you even posted it shows you have a long term commitment to it. Its 120 bucks man, it will also be an incentive to make sure you keep training for it.

    You are up to a pretty good distance for running, (you will probably only do a few 20 miles training runs) most of the time you will be running lower mileage and you ramp up at the end.

    If this is a pipe dream than no, but the money down should help and I can tell by the way you are talking about it that you are serious. You could also take some donations/ or do it for a charity.
    Im fairly frugal but with stuff I know I want, or something that could change how I define myself, I say go for it

  2. Megan permalink
    October 6, 2010 5:33 am

    You should do it. $135 is not that much money if you decide not to do it and is probably motivation to have you do attempt it. (I mean, I certainly wouldn’t want to waste $135, but it doesn’t seem like one of those races where you have to commit to raising tons of $ just to get a #.)

    I’m not sure if you are family-oriented or not, but if you are thinking about having children, it’ll be even harder to find the time to run.

    Plus, if you opt out and the race always sells out, you could probably sell your entry.

  3. Amanda permalink
    October 6, 2010 8:14 am

    Do it. The hill in the middle may seem daunting now but honestly it’s at mile 12. The rest of the race goes down hill from there. By knowing that now, you can build that into your training and help prepare yourself for it. I had the same type of doubts you did before my first half marathon. I took the advice from a few different sources of the following. Running that distance is hard, if it wasn’t everyone would do it. Keep motivated and keep doing it. Running is putting one foot in front of the other, it’s amazing what your body will do if your mind lets you. Increasing the mileage isn’t the hard part of training, it’s letting your mind focus and let you. Count out the weeks from your half until this. If realistically there is enough time between the two to keep increasing your mileage sign up for it.

  4. October 6, 2010 9:04 am

    Do it. Train conservatively and protect your body. Know that it’s your first marathon so don’t set out for speed, but to finish. And check into whether they have a policy letting you move your entry to the next year in the event of injury – some races do. :)

  5. Bonnie permalink
    October 6, 2010 10:51 am

    Coming from a walker and not a runner, could you racewalk it?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

