Skip to content

Food and Entertainment Spending

October 9, 2010

This area is really difficult for me to cut.  While we often invite people over for drinks/snacks, most of the time people prefer to go out to socialize.   I like going out too – having a few drinks, trying new foods, going to new places.   But wow, it adds up really quickly!

It’s only nine days into the month, and I’ve spent about $80 in the entertainment category.  That’s about $50 for a college football game ticket + tailgate BBQ, and $30 on drinks out or alcohol/snacks purchased separately from my regular grocery shopping.  We’re having a couple over tonight, and we’ll probably need to make another run to the store so we can offer some suitable snacks.  We still haven’t completely combined finances, so that means T also spent about the same (maybe a little less).

(Photo:  austinevan)

This doesn’t even count restaurants, where I’ve already reached my target of $75/month.  Already!  Some of these are work lunches, and there is one $45 birthday treat to T.  But still!  We’re already committed to at least 1 more friend’s birthday dinner out this month, and we typically eat one meal out per a weekend.

This is a big reason I took some time off from tracking spending.  I knew we were spending a lot more than we once did on food/entertainment, and I didn’t want to accept it.  But just because it isn’t written down doesn’t make it less true.

While I plan to stay conscious of the numbers and try to keep them down, I don’t plan to drastically cut it.  For now, we have room in our budget for it and we really enjoy it.  If we ever need to save a bit extra, I know exactly which spending to target!

What areas do you find hard to cut?  How much do you spend on entertainment and food?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2010 12:07 pm

    This is hands down my most difficult budget area. I’ve been going over for months, but I’m working on getting it back in line…though my eating out budget is much bigger than yours, so I guess it’s still “out of line” for some. :)

    • October 9, 2010 12:26 pm

      while there was a time when i was meeting that budget, i almost always end up spending almost double it! It is probably time to just adjust it upwards, but wishful thinking has held me back! (All my “misc” cushion money usually ends up going to eating out!)

  2. October 9, 2010 5:04 pm

    I’m on board with that. I like that you over spend in your “budget” area, but you aren’t freaking out about it.

    I do the same thing. I set general budget rules and I don’t freak out if I go over in areas.

    Your reason for tracking $$ is the same as mine, and I really enjoy it.. not just to quash denial but just because I like seeing yearly stats

  3. October 9, 2010 5:28 pm

    Groceries. It’s damn near impossible especially if you want to enjoy your meals, and especially now GST has gone up.

    We also love eating out, but have been pretty good at stemming “leaks” and focusing more on you know, proper meals out rather than a burger here and a burger there.

  4. October 9, 2010 6:12 pm

    Yummy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

