Skip to content

Money, Etc .

October 15, 2010

Retirement Savings

I grudgingly raised my 401k percentage last week, acknowledging that my raise/promotion may not go through anytime soon.  It isn’t just me – all promotions in the department are hanging out in limbo until some executive decides if they approve them.  I’m a little surprised.  Up until this year, raises and salaries have been better than one would expect in this economy.  Now it seems we are facing the same recession issues other companies are facing.

But whatever – I’m still maxing out my 401k.  Punks.

Cash Savings

I’m still very very slowly building a car fund.  It’s going… slowly.  I keep spending my extra cash on travels and trips!  I just planned a pretty low budget thanksgiving trip for us – about $400 total for 4 days.  I’m really excited – we’re trying something new, somewhere new!

Christmas Travels

Speaking of trips, it’s way past time to book our plane tickets back to the midwest for Christmas.  We have some travel vouchers from getting bumped…  But we have to book IN PERSON at the airport.  How ridiculously inconvenient!  Still, we better do it ASAP.  I hate how Christmas always sneaks up on me!

Weeekend

I’m hoping to keep the weekend pretty low key.  It is a friend’s birthday celebration, and we happen to be going out to bars within walking distance of our place.  I’m excited about that, but hopefully will keep it a relatively early night so I can do a medium run Sunday.  Still, we’ll probably end up spending $$$ on food and drinks, again, both for ourselves and for our friend.

Birthday

Also, it was my birthday this week!  I got some TOMS shoes, a tote, some jewelery, and also, a migraine (thanks universe!).  I really couldn’t think of much for my wish list when I was asked!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2010 7:14 am

    Happy Belated Birthday!

    You seem a lot better at going on trips than I do. I think I need to just plan mini trips than try to plan a huge week-long getaway.

  2. everydayminimalist permalink
    October 15, 2010 10:43 am

    Happy belated birthday!

    I like low budget trips. It gets you out of the city to a new city or country and is more fulfilling than just spending it on a new something or another

  3. October 15, 2010 11:46 am

    Happy belated! I love TOMS shoes, they are so comfy. Boo to the migraine and that executive dragging his feet with your raise.

  4. October 15, 2010 1:47 pm

    Happy belated bday!! :)

  5. October 16, 2010 5:22 pm

    Happy belated birthday! Is it another Allegiant thing, this going TO the airport to buy your tickets?

    Which TOMS did you get? I went shopping with a girlfriend several months ago and discovered that I really like some of their shoes but the boutique prices were a bit too steep for me at the time.

    • SP permalink*
      October 16, 2010 8:44 pm

      Ha! no, it is actually united, which is… weird. Only for the vouchers. Though if you buy regular allegiant tickets at the airport, they don’t charge you one of the fees. Maybe $14? My parents do that sometimes because my hometown airport is very small and accessible, unlike the mess that is LAX.

      I got the gray canvas plain ones, but also liked the “love is the new black” pair

  6. October 18, 2010 12:30 pm

    Totally missed it. Happy belated birthday!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

