Skip to content

Upcoming Fitness Expenses

October 18, 2010

Starting out as a runner is really cheap.  Almost everyone will have shoes that will take them as far as they are able to go their first time out (assuming they haven’t been working out much).  All you need from there is a tee shirt and some sort of shorts.  Leslie’s approach to running was similar to mine – start with what you have.  It is one of those hobbies with a low initial monetary investment.

It certainly can add up later if you get more into it.  Running shoes, running clothes (even on the cheap), race fees, and if you are spoiled, a GPS watch (i love mine!)…  It can add up.  It doesn’t have to.  If you don’t have feet issues, you just need basic shoes every now and then, and that’s it.  But you may find that you suddenly find it oh so worth it to have great shoes and comfortable clothes to run in your $150 marathon races!

Los Angeles is nice enough that the weather allows for year round outdoor running.  However, I just can’t handle running after dark or in the early morning.  I live in a really safe area, but I’m super paranoid and feel much more comfortable running on the path near the beach, with a zillion tourists surrounding me, even if I have to dodge them now and then.

Daylight savings time is fast approaching, and my usual running routine is about to be destroyed.  Last year, I got through the season with a mix of boot camp, DVDs, and just plain working out a little less.  This year I’m more running-centric, and I’m definitely going to need treadmill access.

So I’m looking at a gym.  I want somewhere with no contract – I only want to be a member from November-March when the sun sets early.  I want somewhere where treadmills will be open so I can run for an hour at a time if I want.  I want somewhere near work or near my home.  I want something cheap.  I’m going to try out a 24 hour fitness with a free pass to start, and look on from there.

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2010 5:15 am

    Thank you for linking to my article!

    You can purchase monthly passes for about $50 at your local YMCA.

    • October 19, 2010 8:21 pm

      YMCA is definitely on my list. It is a little more than 24 hr fitness and less conveniently located, but still seems like a good value!

  2. October 18, 2010 3:42 pm

    What about getting a running buddy? They are free.

    • October 19, 2010 8:27 pm

      True – I do run with a friend on weekends now and then, but I’ve never tried to find someone with coordinating weeknight schedules. Maybe I could find someone in the area, but it is a little harder to match schedules + pacing + personality all in one!

      There actually is probably a few free running groups too – I should look into that!

  3. October 18, 2010 7:59 pm

    I really want to love running, but I just can’t. But it’s SUCH a great way to get in shape and build your stamina. I am going to keep a closer eye on your running posts in hopes of being inspired. ;)

    • October 19, 2010 8:25 pm

      Are you still going salsa dancing and tangoing? I just wasn’t coordinated enough for anything but running I guess!

      I like running because it is so simple & easy to do, and it is kind of my “me time”. It took me a while to love running because… it’s hard at first! I didn’t stick with it at all until I moved to Cali and gorgeous weather and beaches to run by. It also helped to start out really really slow, even slower than I (thought) i was capable of. The couch-to-5k really works, though it took me forever to get through it since I wasn’t dedicated.

  4. October 18, 2010 10:07 pm

    I hate gyms and treadmills with a passion, but also dislike running in the dark (mostly safety, plus, er, I get cold easily). It definitely made it difficult to stick to regular runs in the winter!

  5. karen permalink
    October 23, 2010 3:25 pm

    I’m the same: every winter my running steadily declines due to lack of light and colder temps (yes, 60 is cold!)

  6. October 24, 2010 12:05 pm

    Thanks for linking to my article! I am so jealous of you living in Los Angeles as a runner. In Chicago, like 80% of my runs are in complete dark, and 50% are in freezing temps. But I guess it makes it more motivating to really get miles in when it’s nice outside (trying to find the positive here!). Good luck on your fitness routine in the dark, and let’s hope for a short and mild winter!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

