Skip to content

Temporarily Retired

December 20, 2013

Is this what retiree life is like?  If so, I love it!

I quit my job and my last day was before thanksgiving – except I arranged to remain an active employee and took a vacation day the following monday, which enabled me to 1) Get paid for thursday and Friday 2) get health insurance for all of December.  Ideally I would have worked through the end of the year and got paid for shutdown and got my year-end bonus, but it just wasn’t worth it.

We moved.  Rather, movers moved and packed all of our stuff.  Unpacking was/is a lot of work!  Our couch didn’t make it up the stairs, nor did our box spring.  My mattress is on the floor, and I actually kind of like it.  We’ll see how long that lasts.  I haven’t come up with any good solutions that don’t involve changing our bed size.  I don’t want a king size bed, nor do I want anything smaller than a queen.

We went on vacation to Paris and London.  Both were amazing, for different reasons.  I am in love with Paris and want to go back again and again.  I want to own a flat there, even though that makes no sense at all.  I visited and stayed with a friend in London, which was so nice.  They are both expensive, and it is often just better NOT to convert between USD and pounds and Euros.

We’re going to visit family for the holidays.  Presents are bought, but not wrapped.  Everything is moving so quickly!

We’ve been so busy with fun stuff, I haven’t even really noticed that I don’t have a job right now.  I had all of these ideas for projects and things I’d get done while on break, but I haven’t made a lot of progress on any of them.  I’m obsessed with setting up and organizing our new place, and it is hard to focus on other things when there is organizing to be done!

I may or may not do a year-end finance wrap-up.  It was a crazy year, and our spending was… odd.  I’m excited that we have something somewhat stable, and I can set up a system that will work.  Set it and forget it.

Merry Christmas blog friends!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2013 9:41 am

    Today is my last day at my job! Next up, two weeks off. I can’t wait. The last few weeks at work have been boring, so this will be nice to feel like I can be bored in my own way. I also want to take the time to unpack some stuff I didn’t unpack when I moved a year and a half ago and tidy up some stuff in general.

    I also absolutely LOVE Paris! It’s one of my favorite cities in the world. I really want to take my boyfriend there some day :) I also want to see more of France. I want to take a three month honeymoon to travel the world… I’ve been joking that since flights at Christmas to see his family are so expensive, we might as well go to Europe for Christmas one year… That would be pretty amazing!

    Merry Christmas and enjoy unpacking!!!

  2. December 20, 2013 1:23 pm

    Ha, I have so many things on my to do list for this two week break (which begins today!) and wonder if I can get them all done.

    Paris is amazing, no? One of my favourite cities in the world. Glad you guys liked it too.

    One of the weird things mentioned in our renter’s welcome pack when we moved into this place (yep this agency doles out a folder packed with info and other docs) was a warning to never put mattresses directly on the floor. Apparently “moisture from your body can go through the mattress and rot the carpet, which you might be liable for”. (Yeah, lots of condescending sounding advice in there, along with how to deal if your burglar alarm won’t stop or your water leaks.) One of the most ridiculous things I’ve ever heard, though I don’t know if there’s any truth in that at all.

  3. December 20, 2013 4:58 pm

    That. Sounds. FANTASTIC! Paris and London!! I’ve been to London for a quick stop and a half but never Paris.

    I suspect you could keep yourself busy for a good long while being “retired”. :)

  4. December 20, 2013 6:26 pm

    Being semi-retired or temporarily retired is kind of my thing.. I waffle between working and then taking time off to travel, then back to working, etc.

    I will say that it is a lot of fun and a HUGE relief after working a lot (read: full-time), but after about 3 – 6 months it becomes boring. Yes .. boring. You’ve pretty much done everything you need to get done (catch up on .. well everything you put off), but then you start searching for things to do.

    Right now I am at the point where I am MISSING and ITCHING to work.. but can’t because of Baby Bun coming :)

  5. Jess permalink
    December 22, 2013 11:45 am

    They sell split box springs for beds smaller than a King. My old roommate had to get one for her full sized bed because of the stairs up to her room in that apartment. Alternatively, you could get the slat style bed frame popular at Ikea (but available elsewhere) and just put the mattress on top of that.

  6. December 22, 2013 7:30 pm

    Wow!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

