Skip to content

Sunday Update

January 12, 2014

Motivation and Ambition:  A follow-up to my last post, here is  short RSA animate video discussing what science has shown motivates us, based on this TED talk.  Once you are paid enough that money is not a concern, people are primarily motivated by autonomy, mastery, and purpose.  This makes complete sense.  Since I’m not independently wealthy, having a job is important because it brings in money.  But after a certain amount of money, I am more motivated by the intrinsic desire to make a difference and to learn new things.  If money were no object, I’d be free to do this in ways that don’t make any profit or pay a salary.  Since some things that I enjoy also happen to be profitable, I focus on those, and life is good as long as the stress levels stay reasonable.

First week on the job:  The new job is going well.  The culture is extremely different than my previous job.  There was actually hugging in the office (“I haven’t seen you in a while” hugging), and I never saw that in any of my last jobs, no matter how tight knit the teams were.  I don’t know if this is good or bad (I’m not a hugger!), but being new, it is definitely nice that people are open and friendly.  And really really smart.  I’m excited for this year.

2014 goals, plans, challenges:  I’ve thought a lot about this. I was talking to a more recent college grads, and she had a long list of goals for the year, one of them being “figure out what to do with my money”.  I remember that phase of my life so clearly.  You are out of school, adjusted to adult life, but now what?  I don’t feel so much like I’m in the “what’s next?!” mindset, and I’m not sure what to do with that.  I like pushing myself and learning new things, but the things that are most important to me I have already started to pursue.  Anyway, expect some sort of a goal post before the month ends.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2014 12:25 pm

    Hmm, I’m not sure how I’d feel about a huggy office! I will obviously respond if someone goes in for a hug but I don’t initiate hugs, ever.

    Yeah, as much as I really like my work, if money was no object, I wouldn’t work fulltime.

  2. January 14, 2014 5:00 am

    I’ve been working in huggy (autocorrects wants me to say “buggy” which is … Kind of true too!) offices for a lot of years now and I have to say I was never comfortable with it until recently. Partly it was that the first job was a creeper-huggy place, there was definitely a Dirty Old Men feel to it whereas the next place was just a cultural thing. Our international colleagues were huggers and in a genuine, friendly way. So now when I see my boss for special occasion stuff and we hug, it doesn’t seem super weird. But I’m still not a big hugger :)

    About the motivation para: yes yes and yes. But it’s clear that I’ve let my brain be lazy of late, and I’m not sure how much is due to fibro fog. Still, I’m taking up a bit of crafting stuff just to keep the juice flowing. Which hasn’t got anything to do with work, it’s just that I need to do things with my hands that’s not typing sometimes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

