Skip to content

To Accomplish: January / February 2014

January 12, 2014

My focus for this month (and really this year) is to become a superstar in my new job.  That said, I’m still so new that I’m having a hard time knowing what it means.  Outside of work related stuff, most of my “goals” are just for fun.   I haven’t got a paycheck yet, so I’m going to wait to make my financial goals.

Create a gallery wall in the living room.  I usually make T take care of the art things (because he’s an amazing artist), but we have a set of prints that just need to be sized, framed and arranged.  I’ll let him supervise, but if I wait for him to do it, I’ll have to wait too long!

Re-establish running routine and register for half marathon.  I haven’t actually missed running as much as I assumed I would, but I assume it will help my mental health.

Hike trail near apartment and 2 other trails.  I need to start exploring the area!!!

Be social at work (and outside).  I mentioned a totally different culture at my new place, and I want to get off on the right foot.  I’m naturally pretty independent and introverted, so these things are legitimately challenges.  We don’t know many people here yet, so I have to work on finding people I connect with.  Here are more specific things to make it measurable:

  • Never turn down an invite unless I really really can’t make it
  • Figure out who there is my age and invite them to lunch / coffee
  • Invite at least 2 more senior folks to lunch / coffee
  • Reach out to at least 1 loose connection
  • Try a running / hiking / book club group out

Read two business related books.  And likely a bunch of fiction too.  I’m part of the way through 3 books right now…  I probably should finish them before moving on!

Create a successful french dessert.  Mostly because mine failed tonight.  I’ve been on a french food kick ever since we got back from Paris (and I’ve had time to cook!).  The meals are going pretty well, the desserts, not so much.  I also want to continue to try new recipes in my new cookbook.

Obtain reservation at amazing and expensive restaurant to celebrate my first paycheck.   I know exactly where I’m going, just not when!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2014 10:03 pm

    What did you try tonight? I love profiteroles and chocolate molten lava cake so much!

    • January 13, 2014 10:11 pm

      Have you made them?! Sounds delicious.

      It was a pretty simple creme-brulee type thing (creme caramel to be specific) that never set. Looking back, I think I know what the issue was. The recipe called for both yokes + whites, but I think the yoke to white ratio was off. Recipe scaling error, but who needs 6 creme caramels for 2 people?!

  2. January 17, 2014 1:51 pm

    Great goals – I started a new job in a new town back in April last year, and really thought I’d struggle to make new friends, but I’ve found that by making the effort, I’ve now got a great friendship group both with my neighbours and work mates! FFx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

