Skip to content

Acheiving Goals

June 25, 2007

Comparing this month to last month:
Rent: +40 (new lease, rent was raised)
Utilities: -70 (Due to cable bill!)
Grocery: -70 (not sure why, perhaps because the boyfriend bought half since he was eating most meals at my place)
Charity: +20
Eating out: -3 (very close…)
Gas: -80 (strictly due to NOT taking a 1000 mile road trip as I did in previous month)
Personal: +130 (got hair done this month)
Auto Care: -120 (no need for repair this month, only oil change)
Gifts: +50 Both mothers and fathers day presents were bought this month
Travel: +800 =) Went on a vacation this month!!!

Next months targets:

  • Reduce Eating out to about $65–this should allow at least one nice meal with the boyfriend paid for by me, plus a lunch or two out with coworkers if invited
  • Gas: Probably will increase, as I’m planning at least one long trip, but prices are lowering slightly
  • Personal: Should be only around $20-$30, unless I enroll in Yoga lessons, which would increase this
  • Auto care: Barring emergencies, shouldn’t have any expenses here
  • Gifts: I’m thinking this will be about $50-$100…. 3 year anniversary is this month!

I’m also due to receive about $2000 next month in tuition reimbursement. I’m considering dumping it into my Roth IRA (reaching the max for the year), thus freeing up $350/mo for the rest of the year for my other goals. That is the goal I’m closest to reaching–sort of the a “investment snowball” rather than a debt snowball psychological trick of reaching my goals.

Another option is a compromise option. Put $1000 towards the Roth, $500 for each of the other accounts, and reduce monthly contributions to $160/mo to the Roth. I’m sort of an all-or-nothing type of girl, so I am less interested in this. In fact, I’ve pretty much talked myself into the first approach! I have about 2 weeks before payday, so I’ll mull it over until then.

Another plus, starting in August my HSA contributions are maxed and I’ll have another $200/m (minus taxes) free!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rodrigo permalink
    June 26, 2007 4:56 am

    Oi, achei teu blog pelo google tá bem interessante gostei desse post. Quando der dá uma passada pelo meu blog, é sobre camisetas personalizadas, mostra passo a passo como criar uma camiseta personalizada bem maneira. Até mais.

Leave a Reply

