Skip to content

I "saved" $25 on my grocery bill

January 30, 2008

I went on my first full shopping trip since relocating and moving into my apartment. I looked at the current balance of my grocery bill in horror. How on earth was it at $79 already? And they still were ringing up my order!! The grand total was $95, then they swiped my Ralph’s card and it dropped to $70. It is ridiculous that they do that. It is just forcing you to use a grocery card if you want any discounts at all.

Anyway, $70 is still much more than I spend on weekly groceries. About double! Although part of it was because I’m restocking almost everything, it still was a bit excessive. I think my solution will be to make this last two weeks…. so no new groceries until Februrary 12th! I am pretty sure I can do it. When I complain there is no food to eat, I usually mean, there is nothing I feel like cooking and eating.

What on earth did I buy? Well, I won’t copy my whole long receipt, but here are some of the more expensive items on the list.
Chicken breast fillets $8.90. I don’t usually buy meat, actually. I’m not vegetarian, but I’m not a big fan of meat and I don’t really know how to prepare it well.
Frozen Strawberries, huge bag, $8.50 (should last a very long time. For smoothies)
Lunch meat, 2 packages, $5 (much cheaper than buying a sandwhich!)
Peperoni to make English muffin pizza’s: $3.50
Lunch cheese
: $4.19, I forgot to price shop this I think
I also bought butter, milk, bananas, coffee creamer, 2 boxes of cereal, frozen broccoli and lots of other miscellaneous items.

There were some things on the list I didn’t get. I had a frugal recipe that called for ziti, so I set out to the pasta isle. When I didn’t find it, I realized I wasn’t entirely sure if ziti was pasta at all. Maybe it was a cheese? So I’m back at home, ziti-less and just looked it up. It was pasta after all. I also could not find any muffin mix to make bran muffins. Maybe no one else likes them?

I liked to have a grocery budget of about $120/month, but I may have to up it. We’ll see.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Well-Heeled permalink
    January 30, 2008 6:13 am

    Try Trader Joe’s – their prices are pretty low compared to Ralphs or Vons, and they don’t need a card. 🙂

    There are also a ton of farmer’s markets around on the weekends (Hollywood, Santa Monica, etc.)

  2. E.C. permalink
    January 30, 2008 1:26 pm

    With any luck, your grocery bills will go down in a month or two once you’ve laid in supplies of freezer and pantry staples. Shop around, but you may have to adjust your budget for now.

  3. SavingDiva permalink
    January 30, 2008 6:33 pm

    I also think TJ’s is great! Especially for pasta and frozen fruit….

    Ziti is a pasta http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ziti
    It refers to a certain shape of noodle. You can always use penne or rigatoni instead…

Leave a Reply

