Skip to content

Food Failure #2

February 16, 2008

My weekly grocery budget goal is $30, I spent $35 at Trader Joe’s, then $10 at Ralph’s to bet ground sausage meat for the big batch of breakfast burritos I spent today making (then freezing). Which quite obviously is more than the budget, but the burritos are meant to be split with boyfriend T. He is going to put $15 of gas in my car for splitting the ingredients + labor. If i can get by all week without running to the store for milk/juice or something else random, this week will be in budget.

However, in a quintessential SJean Food Failure, I screwed up the breakfast burritos. Breakfast burritos are an old recipe passed down to me from my mom…. No, I’m joking. My mom did make them and throw them in the freezer for us. In college, she’d sometimes send a batch off to the dorms with me. But it’s just sausage, eggs, cheese and chopped onion rolled into a tortilla. Top with sour cream and salsa. They aren’t the healthiest little things, though you could pony up for the lowest fat sausage ($4.60 instead of $2.50 for 3 less ounces), which I didn’t this time. I did attempt to drain as much grease as I could, probably fruitlessly. Anyway, I made 20 some of these things, running out of sausage halfway through and getting more. Which was odd, since I usually estimate quite well how much I need.

After stacking them up in the freezer and forgetting about them, I was walking along the beach (yes seriously) and it dawned on me. I had completely forgotten to put the scrambled eggs in!! When I was writing the list and I asked “T, what else goes in these? Sausage, cheese, onion… tomatoes?” He said he thought that was it too. I spent an hour and a half making the dang things, and it still didn’t cross my mind! Really, how does this happen?? I’m sure they are still completely edible, just not as intended. So they were less than $1 a piece and would have been even more frugal had I used more egg and less sausage. Eat with cation if you don’t buy the lowfat stuff, but my diet is generally pretty good so one of these when I’m feeling lazy should be just fine.

I’m excited to try out some of the new things I bought. I found the couscous just fine, and even located some ziti in the larger Ralph’s that I went to, though I was totally prepared to substitute penne or similar. I was slightly overwhelmed in the yogurt section, but after a few minutes of searching, I located the Greek style yogurt successfully. We’ll see how my lunches pan out this week, though I still have some sandwich ingredients on hand in case of emergency.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2008 5:53 pm

    What do you freeze the breakfast burritos in? Do you just heat them up in the microwave? Or do you toss them into the oven. If you can tell, I’m interested. I don’t think I would eat them for breakfast, but maybe a lazy dinner item!

  2. sjean permalink*
    February 17, 2008 6:04 pm

    I don’t eat them for breakfast either!

    In general I have frozen them in basic saran wrap, but this time I noticed it didn’t hold too well in the freezer. I’ve never had that problem before, so perhaps the brand I’m using is the issue, I’m not sure. I microwave them–very quick, maybe 1 minute or less. But they might be slightly better in the oven, as most microwaved things are!

Trackbacks

  1. Recipes within my $135 monthly grocery budget « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

