Skip to content

When in doubt, pick what is free

February 19, 2008

Problem: I’ve been a wreck lately, off and on. In less then 3 weeks on the job, I have twice called T at lunch in tears over nothing! Of course, I know that it is over nothing, even when I call. Of course, I’m professional enough to keep my tears out of sight of anyone. Still, it is frustrating. To me, and maybe to him, though he’s been super kind about it.

With the relocation and all the changes all at once, I’ve really been under a ton of stress lately.  Most of it is exciting and good, but it is still stressful.

Solution: Start running again. I quit when I lived in Iowa and it got really cold

Now really, I want to try out rock climbing or yoga. But I don’t trust myself with that yet. Spending money on something I may or may not follow through with. Running is free–I have shoes, I have a road… and a workout room at my apartment. The other things, not so free. If running balances me the way it usually does, then perhaps I’ll branch out, but I have to focus on one thing at a time.

When in doubt, choose the free option.

The best advice I received about whether to pursue grad school immediately after graduation was essentially that. My dad suggested, that if I was not sure, I should think about it while I was making money rather than think about it while I was borrowing money. Such wisdom from someone so bad with their own money! There is some value in “just getting it done”, but I think more students err on the side of grad school when it isn’t their best choice than err on the side of employment when graduate work is their calling. It’s easy to do though–if you are good at school and have been going to school since you were 5, more school easily seems like the best choice.

Going to grad school part time while working full time can be a HUGE pain in the butt, but financially, you just can’t beat it (if employer covers tuition). It’ll be two more years of hard hard work, but to have an M.S. degree when I finish? It’ll be fantastic. I mean, kids (and even pets) probably will have to wait, but I’ll be (gasp) 27 or 28, which isn’t all that old. I have a good friend who is due to have a beautiful little girl any second now, but that really was never the image I had of my life. I won’t be the youngest coolest mom, but I’m cool with that (and really, I still get carded for R rated movies sometimes so at least I’ll look young).

Anyway, I find out about my acceptance to the new graduate program applied for “within 2 to 4 weeks” of either today or the day that I submitted the application (the email wasn’t clear). Cross your fingers!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2008 11:21 am

    I think if you are feeling down or having a rough time with the new job then starting back up running is a great idea. I’m a runner and I find that I am in a much better mood all around when I am consistently running. Living in Kansas makes it tough for me to run through these rough winters but I still try to get in a few days a week even if I have to stick to a treadmill. This helps keep my overall attitude positive about most things. It especially helps when I am stressed out at work during our super busy times.

  2. February 19, 2008 11:49 am

    I also run frequently, but I find that I have to mix it up in the winter.

    Rock climbing could become an expensive hobby, but you should try it out. Take a class at your local rock gym. The class I signed up for met for about 60 minutes. Plus, I rented the gear I needed to use. I slowly acquired gear as I made sure that I wanted to keep going.

    I used to practice yoga, but it just wasn’t for me. However, you should look into a local studio that would allow for drop-in classes. That way, you could purchase a 5 class punch card and go to a few classes without making a huge commitment.

    If you’re stressed, I think working out will help. However, new activites always bring out the best in me.

  3. February 19, 2008 1:32 pm

    I agree. I run also and it makes a huge difference to my well-being. Lately I have been really run down and over tired so I haven’t been running. I’m thinking not running may be part of the problem. A couple of times this year I have contemplated joining a gym, ability to take classes and run inside when it’s freezing outside. However, I haven’t been able to convince myself because running is free…

    I hope the running helps!

    Also I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you on school, I’m waiting to hear also and plan working full-time and going to school part-time. Scary to think about, but the best way to do it.

Leave a Reply

