Skip to content

Revised budget

February 20, 2008

I’m still open to suggestions on my budget, but taking into consideration comments, I’ve already made some tweaks. For those items that are more “occasional” I still want to set aside an average monthly cost.

Here it is, as it stands now:

Net $3025
Expense Budget
Rent $1425
E-fund $150
Roth IRA $325
Cable/Internet $60
Student Loan $133
Utilities $30
Restaurants $75
Grocery $120
Gas $110
Entertainment $60
Clothes $50
Home $20
Personal $20
Gift $75
Travel $100
Insurance $110
Car $150
Left $22

Suggestion: Reducing dining out budget by bringing lunch to work.
I already bring lunch, but I realized that dining out and entertainment were used quite similarly–for dates with T, occasional outings, and perhaps beer/wine now and then. I left dining out at $75 giving us about $25 for the two of us each week, he pays once a month. Or bi-weekly if we want a more expensive meal. In light of that, I reduced entertainment to $50. Unless I do decide to join some classes on my dime, that’ll be enough for now.

Suggestion: Reduce/Eliminate Home budget
The “home” category has been sliced from $50 to $20. I have gotten settled into my apartment and should be able to spend just $20 month on things like cleaning supplies, new towels, and random stuff I want to finish decorating. Also, I still need to do laundry! I do need this money, and $20 might not even be enough. But I’ll try it out for now.

Adjustment: Added $20 Personal budget
However, I realized I have no budget for haircut/shampoo/make-up, which on average will also be $20/mo, assuming relatively cheap haircuts and no more highlights. So I added a “personal” category. I already think I need to increase this a bit to be realistic, but I won’t yet.

Suggestion: Reduce the cable by $30 by getting rid of it.
I’ve debated this heavily (with myself) since I ordered it. The cable is a really good deal right now–all channels+DVR for just $30/month. I’m leaving it for the moment, but I do think I’ll cancel it. Once it is for sure canceled, it’ll be removed from budget.

Adjustment: Gifts increased to $75/mo.
I did a quick rundown of what I expect to buy in gifts this year, and $50/mo won’t cut it, unless I ignore Christmas. Actually the total was more like $90/mo. but that seems so ridiculous that I won’t budget that much for now.

Adjustment: Car Fund decreased to $150.
I probably won’t be buying a new car anytime soon, but I do want to get a fund started. Some of the “extra” paychecks might get a portion diverted this way. This will also cover maintenance so I really won’t build up much over the year.

I really would like to have $100 in the “Misc” category just to give some breathing room. I’m going to reduce the 401k contributions to 14% for now, which still gives only (estimated) $22 in leftover. If cable goes away, that is $52, which makes me pretty happy. If that is still too tight of a budget, I will decrease it another percentage. My original 2008 plan only had 10% withholding, so 15% is quite an increase. I like to figure out how much I can afford to withhold in this way–shoot high, and adjust lower if necessary.

I’m saving more than I did last year, both as a percentage of income and dollar amount. I don’t think 14% in 401k contributions in addition to 5k in a Roth is at all cheating myself out of retirement, especially since I’m starting nice and young. If I do start grad school in the fall, the $133 student loan payment will disappear, and perhaps I can up the contribution by several percentages for the last few months of the year.

To avoid constant budget updates in the main content of my blog, I am going to track my budget in my fancy new budget tab each month. It is up for February, but not quite accurate yet. I think this will really help me to understand if I’m coming within my budget. I’ve set budgets before, but I have a really hard time actually making use of them…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2008 7:03 pm

    I track my spending in an old pearbudget spreadsheet… so far it’s working okay.

    Regarding the rent, it’s probably the norm for a 1-bedroom in your neighborhood. A month before your lease is up, if you are interested in moving, you should check out craigslist. Sometimes good deals can be found there. I don’t think it’s unsual to have $1200-$1300 1-beds and $900+ bachelor/studios. It takes good timing (luck), and of course the vast majority of them won’t be as nice as your place.

    By the way, love the wordpress site! I gotta remember to update your link…

  2. February 21, 2008 12:46 pm

    You might try combining some things to see if you get a deal. Insurance policies (car and renters/homeowners insurance), Bundled services (internet/cable/phone) etc.

Leave a Reply

