Skip to content

To buy: Ear plugs

February 21, 2008

The guy next in the cubicle next to me at work (yes I live in cubicle world) spent over an hour on the phone asking someone if he could get a charge number for the work he did, so he wouldn’t have to charge it to overhead.  Talking really LOUDLY, making me want to toss something over the wall.

I’ve been really interested in getting some in-ear noise reduction headphones.  I’ve been thinking of spending about $70 (!) on them.  The problem is, though amazon reviewers may give them 4/5 stars,  some people hate them because they are uncomfortable.  I want to find a store that will let me try them out, but then again, what kind of store lets you stick headphones inside your ear canals (ew?) just to see if you like them.  It’ll take me quite awhile to squeeze them out of my budget, so I don’t want to get something that isn’t great.  Even if they’ve been in my amazon cart for months.

Reality is that in this case, a pair of simple ear plugs would suffice.  (But if anyone has headphone advice, I’m all ears.)

By the way, cubicle phone etiquette:   Don’t yell into the phone!   Talk softly and increase your volume if the person on the other end has trouble hearing you.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2008 7:05 am

    Yeah, I would be looking for earplugs too. I keep mine around mostly for trippy experiments…like seeing what the world would feel like if I was missing sound. Not while I’m driving, of course. 😉

    One of my big commute pet peeves is on the metro when peoples’ iPods are turned up so loud that the sound is just pouring out. I shouldn’t have to bring earplugs or my own MP3 player (and I don’t have one) to not listen to music.

  2. February 22, 2008 12:50 pm

    Oh I wouldn’t do well working in a cubicle environment… I get annoyed at all sorts of little noises…

    I’d try out the earplugs and if those don’t do, save for the more expensive stuff. You gotta be able to work without those annoyances on a daily basis!

  3. March 1, 2008 3:10 pm

    In December, my office moved and I went from having my office to having a cubicle. The person across from me constantly hums (out of tune) and another lady has a very strong and loud Northern accent. Plus I hear idle chatter and telephone conversations constantly. Having to deal with budgets and numbers all day, I had the worst time concentrating. I actually bought some nice headphones for about $30 that would be comfortable 8 hours a day, and listen to soft music all day. It’s low enough I can still hear some come in my cube or I can hear the phone ring. It has actually saved me from going ballistic and knocking someone out.

Trackbacks

  1. Good purchases « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

