Skip to content

Free Things I love

February 27, 2008

Money can buy me a lot of thing that I really like, but there are also a lot of free things that I enjoy in my life. Here is a few that I enjoy on a regular basis

National Public Radio: I’ve been a huge fan for years–I originally discovered it when I started making long road trips during a long distance relationship. You really can only listen to music for so long, especially if you aren’t that into music. These days I listen to NPR in the car on the way to/from work to stay on top of the news. love the non-news programming as well: This American Life, Science Lab, Marketplace (especially Marketplace Money, which inspired my initial pf love), and a ton of other great shows (available as podcasts too!). Technically, this isn’t free–they rely on contributions from listeners like me, as they like to remind me during pledge drives!

Public Library
: We all know about borrowing books, but don’t forget that most libraries also will loan DVDs and music. You can catch up on your magazine reading there rather than subscribing, or surf the net if you don’t have your own connection. Many cities also let you download audiobooks (though good luck getting them onto an iPod legally/free) for your enjoyment. Again, paid for by your taxes, but essentially free.

The Ocean: Coming from the landlocked Midwest, the ocean still inspires awe in me each time I visit it. I’ve already gone several times, though it hasn’t been warm enough to go in.

Reading: I quit pleasure reading in college (too much school work) but now that I have free time again, this is a great way to stay entertained and to keep your mind sharp. This ties in with the public library, but I also read a lot of blogs which is also free. I do pay for internet, but in theory you could use publicly available wi-fi (see library).

Running: You do have to buy the shoes, but other than that, there is no cost. This is a love/hate relationship. In theory, I hate it, but when I do it, I love it. Similarly, there is also the option of swimming, rollerblading (so 1990s) , hiking, oga and long walks on the beach. рЯШЙ

Other: I also love walking around the city, good conversations, writing, and I just adore sitting on my balcony (though if you add a cup of coffee, there is a small cost).

What free/frugal things do you love?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2008 6:06 pm

    Running and the library are my two favorite ‘free’ things. Although when you add up the cost of running shoes and then any late fees. They tend to not be so ‘free.’

  2. February 28, 2008 9:28 am

    This isn’t totally free because you have to pay for the paper (I get an educational discount). But having a cup of tea and spending Sunday morning reading through the entire Sunday Times. =) I also love NPR, running and the library!

  3. Cami permalink
    March 9, 2008 10:24 am

    Just found your site, cool!

    Free things I seriously, consciously enjoy – hot bubble baths and sleeping in on weekends, long walks around the neighbourhood, bird watching, suntanning outside…. just to name a few. Oh, and downloading seasons of TV shows and watching them non stop all weekend. рЯЩВ

  4. Nicole permalink
    May 8, 2008 4:48 pm

    I’m sweetly jealous that you have a balcony.

    But I adore this list. I felt like you were talking for me.

  5. October 2, 2008 10:22 pm

    не могу прочитать кодировку почему-то, как исправить?

  6. November 25, 2008 3:54 am

    I love…
    walking in the hills. I’ve recently moved towns to Manchester, UK, but to the outskirts where there are the most wonderful (but very cold) hills. Although it debatable who loves it more- me or my dog!

Trackbacks

  1. Money Management And YOU! » Re: Free Things I love | Spreading the word about wealth creation | MMAndYOU.com
  2. The library isn’t free | Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

