Skip to content

Anxiety Advice: Yoga on a Budget

March 10, 2008

I’m a lot less anxious today than I was last week when I sought out advice on how to cope with the stress of the new job and the cross country move. Thanks for all the great tips! I took the following evening to take a nice bath, complete with candle, music (ok, NPR), and a glass of red wine.  That alone got me back to a place where I no longer felt like a ball of stress.

My favorite recommendation to deal with stress was yoga. I took a yoga class one semester in college, but at the time it didn’t do much for me. I usually spent the session wondering when I could get out so I could go do my homework and I found the teacher slightly hokey.   Now that I’m older and wiser (ha), I’m willing to give it another shot. Being personal finance minded, I thought about the most frugal yet effective way to try it again.

Internet: I gave YouTube a try for the ultimate free video, and while I came up with these cute little morning and bedtime yoga routines, but they aren’t really what I had in mind. The were too short and more instructional than relaxing.  I also did found a couple free videos elsewhere on the internet, but they also weren’t quite what I was hoping for.

Classes: Classes seem to run about $15 per a class (a little less if you buy in bulk). My workplace has noontime yoga on Thursdays for $10, but Thursdays is my free lunch day. Ooops, I mean, it is my lunch recruiting meeting day. I swear I don’t do it for the free food!   I found a studio relatively near my work that offers a $5 special each time you go to a new teacher’s class, so that could get me a couple cheap classes.  However regular classes just aren’t a sustainable addition to my budget.

Self Study: I have a book on Yoga that my instructor convinced us to purchase when I was in the class. It was pretty much a waste of money, but not worth selling on Amazon. Really, once you develop a basic routine, you don’t need any guidance, just perhaps some nice music.  This could work, but reading about yoga seems a little tedious.

DVD: This probably is the best option, though I haven’t done any checking on prices or selection. I’d be most comfortable with someone guiding me through routines with some soothing music.  For my long term solution, I will find a nice yoga DVD.

TV: This is my near term solution. I’m have an introductory period in my cable package where they give me a lot of channels and a free DVR for six months. (When the promo is up, I’m going to return the DVR and cancel cable, but for right now I feel that it is worth $30/mo.)  I found the fitness channel, searched for yoga classes, then I set my DVR to record them for several days.   I already have about 4 different half hour routines (though I have to fast forward the commercials).   This will help me determine if yoga is really for me long term before I purchase a DVD or a class.

It is too soon to tell if yoga is helpful to me.  I’ve only done two TV sessions (plus about 5 minutes this morning) and I’m generally not stressed on the weekends.  It definitely feels like a good balance to my running routine–I really hate stretching, but yoga adds a little spice to the stretch.

My second favorite recommendation came from a friend who recommended home dance parties:  Pick a song, blast it, and dance it out!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2008 10:01 am

    I went the DVD route to avoid being utterly embarrassed in a class.

    It ended up costing me about $20 total, $17.99 for a month long netflix subscription. During that month, I rented any yoga dvd that looked remotely interesting.

    From there, I found my ‘favorite’ and was able to get a copy off of half.com for next to nothing.

    I’d highly suggestion looking at the DVD’s before you buy. There’s so much variation and some are nothing like the description on the back.

  2. March 10, 2008 3:08 pm

    If you are new to yoga I would recommend you considering taking at least a few classes with an instructor, they can give you some really good tips for starting a personal practice that might make working with a video more fulfilling. Also, everyone has their own little quirks that might make certain poses more of a strain for them so some basic introductory instruction could prevent injuries.

    That said, here’s a website that has a long list of “lessons” (series of poses based around a lesson theme) that my yoga teacher recommended.

    http://www.fulcrumblu.com/lessons.htm

  3. March 10, 2008 8:07 pm

    I got a yoga DVD and never took it out of the box. I too thought it would be a great way to save money, but I really enjoy the instruction (if you get a good instructor). It really makes or breaks the experience. I can’t stand the hokey ones either.

    Anyway, to be frugal I recommend joining a gym with a large selection of yoga classes. That way you get a lot more for your money. 24 hour Fitness has a lot of yoga classes in my area and is only $44/month to go to any location in the city (I used to pay $20/month to go to one location, but it didn’t have many yoga classes so I upgraded). A membership at a yoga studio on the other hand would easily exceed $100 a month.

  4. Kelly permalink
    March 11, 2008 1:55 pm

    I’m a really big fan of the downloadable version of Bryan Kest’s class here:

    http://poweryoga.com/

    It’s more comprehensive than any DVD I’ve found, and gives a great work out!

  5. Margo permalink
    March 12, 2008 4:41 pm

    ^^ditto. I pay $54/mo for a gym, and they have a Wednesday night and Saturday morning class I can make it to. The gym gets the instructors from the best yoga studio in my area. If I went directly to the studio, I’d pay $120/mo just for 2 classes per week for the month.

    So I “save” 50% and get to use the gym & steam room the other 5 days a week.

  6. deb permalink
    March 18, 2008 5:37 pm

    I’ve looked at yogatoday.com as well, but haven’t tried the classes yet. They put up new videos pretty much every day, though!

Leave a Reply

