Skip to content

Good purchases

March 11, 2008

I made two really great purchases this weekend. First, I purchased a cast iron skillet, $20, with which I made delicious, healthy, and frugal broccoli frittatas. I have one other decent skillet, and a plethora of crappy ones that I’m slowly getting rid of. This is my first cast iron skillet and I already love it. There is still hope for me to learn to cook!

My other good purchase was earplugs. The box was about $3 for 10 pair, and I wore them all morning at work. It was so peaceful! It was a bit awkward when a coworker came up behind me and was unable to get my attention (not knowing that I was wearing them) but that is a small price to pay. No more being over stimulated with annoying conversations about a coworkers kids’ boy scout troop. Haven’t these people heard of “six inch voices”? I think that having my workspace be quieter will help with stress reduction.

T made a nice purchase as well. He bought a flower pot and irises that will live on my balcony! After the purchase, he did some research and learned that irises are fickle flowers and need full sun, so I won’t be surprised if they don’t make it. I sort of have a black thumb as it is and could probably kill a cactus. Still, the pot is nice and we can replace the irises with a more hearty flower that only needs half sun.

I am considering upping my clothes budget to build up my career wardrobe more quickly. I can’t quite justify it though–I’m getting by on what I have, and looking “sharp” is much much less important in my industry than in many others. At my last company, it was not uncommon for people to show up in sweatshirts. This company is slightly more formal, but definitely puts the casual in business casual. I was considering $100/month, but perhaps I’ll compromise to $75/month, which is still quite modest. That is $25 less for my efund though…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2008 10:24 am

    $75 is reasonable. Just make a list if what you’d like to have as staples or basics and check out thrift stores…..!

  2. March 12, 2008 6:51 am

    If you treat that cast iron right, it’ll last you a lifetime. There’s a great podcast on caring for cast iron at http://www.cooksillustrated.com/podcast. Check it out!

  3. March 12, 2008 6:51 am

    That period isn’t part of the link! Sorry.

Trackbacks

  1. March Goal and net worth update « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

