Skip to content

“Free” lunch

March 13, 2008

We have monthly staff meetings where the boss provides lunch.  They are not mandatory, but I think they are strongly encouraged.  My department is really trying to cut back all time charged to overhead, which is why they are held over lunch.  We are to consider it our lunch break.  It is good business sense–I’m sure 1.5 hours of my time billed to overhead costs a lot more than a sandwich, drink, and cookie.

The annoying part is, they are scheduled for 1.5 hours.  I take a half hour lunch each day, maximum, so I have to stay at least an hour later than usual to make up for this.  I really shouldn’t complain about “free lunch”, but they should either keep them to an hour or actually present useful information for the whole time.

Company culture here seems to promote 2 hour meetings as the standard, with everyone showing up several minutes late.  For my first few weeks (ok, even now sometimes) I was always awkwardly early/on time.  I just don’t understand lateness.  If I ran my company, everyone would be prompt to meetings, and whoever was running the meeting would be a few minutes early to set up.

Anyway, from my quick internet research, it seems the check engine light is often nothing to worry about and even if it is an intermittent problem, it won’t shut off until you read the code.  I’ll head to Autozone after work to see what they say.

P.S. – Just received confirmation that I’m registered for sailing class starting the last day of March!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 17, 2010 8:06 am

    They count the meeting as your lunch?! So not cool. When we have staff meetings – maybe once every two or three months – we are considered at work. We order lunch into the office every Friday (We’re a small office of six people.), and even then, we’re considered at work. (I most definitely still count myself as being at work since I have to continue answering phones while everyone else gets to enjoy lunch undisturbed.)

Leave a Reply

