Skip to content

Weekend ahead!

March 14, 2008

I have big plans for the weekend.  Well, when I tell you what my “big” plans are, you probably will think I’m lame for considering them “big”.  Ha.  First, the fun happy stuff.

I’m going shopping!!!!!!  Mostly for a present for my mom, but I’ll keep my eyes out for quality work clothes within my budget.  I’m dying for some nice button down work shirts.  Which again, proves my lameness.  Couldn’t I at least lust after some fashionable spring dresses?  (Well, I do that too, but am unable to justify the purchase.)    For non-stalkers familiar with the LA area, I think I’m heading to Santa Monica 3rd Street Promenade–they seem to have the widest selection of stores and it’s a nice area. If you are a psycho stalker, then I’m going to Inglewood, so stalk me there.

Happy Hour:  The new hire/young people group at my employer is sponsoring a happy hour in one of the beachy cities after work on Friday.  I’m naturally a bit shy, but I figure I better force myself to go and socialize with some of my coworkers.  If I totally hate it, I can always leave, right?  I’m sure I’ll have fun once I’m there, but is the kind of thing I can easily talk myself out of going to.  I imagine I’ll incur costs of $15 or less for 1-2 beers and perhaps a snack.

Cooking:  I’m on a mission to find a more frugal breakfast.  I’m currently in love with the boxed granola cereals from Trader Joe’s, eaten with vanilla yogurt.  Yummy.  However, I feel like granola should cost less than the $3.29/box I’m paying.  I’m willing to make my own, so I’m going to Google some recipes and try one out.  (I’m also open to suggestions on places to buy granola in bulk for cheaper.)  I also have been craving bran muffins, and want to bake a batch.  This recipe looks delicious, but this one is much cheaper more basic.I shouldn’t need any groceries outside of ingredients for these two things.

Fitness:  I’m sure I’ll run once or twice, and I’m going to try out a new Yoga DVD I got on a Netflix free trial subscription (which I foolishly started right before a long weekend away, so I’m not getting much out of it.  Four movies, max.)  I got some of suggestions on how to do classes for cheaper (thanks!) and certainly want to give classes a try eventually.  For now, the Nameste Yoga on FitTV is completely fulfilling my needs.  I just love it.  It is only 20 minutes (fast forward commercials), but if I want to do more than one session, I already have like 10 on my DVR.  In fact, it is fulfilling my needs so much that I wanted to buy season 1 and 2 from the internet for a total of $100, since my DVR goes back in July.  But I won’t, I promise.  I could get 2 months of classes for that price!

And then, the less exciting stuff. . . .

Car:  I’m going to deal with that pesky check engine light.  This could eat up an entire day, but it also might be as simple as getting the code read and finding out my gas cap was loose.  :::crosses fingers::::

Clean:  Boring, but necessary.  I also might start thinking about packing for next weekend.

Organize:  I need to do some financial housekeeping and throw away some stuff.  The nice thing about moving is that you get rid of a lot of extra stuff and everything gets put in a place.  But in the short time I’ve been here, I’ve managed to clutter up some areas, and want to declutter before it becomes a problem.

What are you doing this weekend?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2008 7:20 am

    Finally Friday! My weekend won’t be as eventful as yours, but should be fun. Tonight I’m going out with my husband and one of his friends who recently moved to the area. We’re going to a bar for a bit, then back here to play Super Smash Bros Brawl on the Wii, and likely continue drinking. Saturday and Sunday will be spent packing and organizing, with hopefully a coffee date with a friend thrown in there somewhere.

  2. March 14, 2008 9:31 am

    I hope my weekend turns out to be as productive as yours!

    I have no concrete plans yet, but my sister just got a puppy so we’re going to be playing with her tonight ( I hope). My boyfriend has a weird work schedule this weekend so I’m not sure when we’ll be hanging out, so in the in-between time I hope to get a lot of uncluttering done at home! I have to post a bagful of stuff on ebay. I need to get the oil changed in my car. This is probably a bad idea, but DSW has double points this week, so I may go and check out their clearance section. And lastly, I gotta get working on my side-business…I’ve been letting it lag for the past few months!

    I guess I have a lot more things to do than I thought.

  3. March 14, 2008 11:38 am

    I’m going hiking and camping with my BF! 🙂 I’m very excited, but also kind of nervous. Definitely not as productive as you’re going to be!

  4. farmwife permalink
    March 15, 2008 3:00 am

    I’m midwifing a bunch of baby goats 🙂 Cleaning out baby pens and building more, since our kid population has tripled this week.
    And I am really hoping to sleep more than 2 hours at a time while the rest of the family is home to do barn checks.

  5. March 15, 2008 8:14 am

    This weekend is posting more on FB Closet, spending it in bed with BF ( no no .. cuddling and working on laptops) …. and relaxing

Leave a Reply

