Skip to content

Vacation this weekend

March 17, 2008

When T and I booked our tickets on Southwest.com a few weeks ago, I complained because he hit “buy” before I did, and I got to a screen that said “Sorry, no tickets left at the price selected” and I had to go through again and repurchase at a higher price. My ticket was $176 and his was about $130, though he did agree to split the difference.

Today he called me at work in a panic because his ticket was backwards–out of San Fransisco and into Los Angeles! Is it possible that there was a technical glitch? He is obsessively careful and I can’t imagine him booking it backwards. It will cost him $144 to change it, according to the website. I told him to get on the phone and talk to a human. I hope he can work something out.

[Edit: He called on the phone and had to pay just $27 to change it, as a “one time courtesy”, though he insists he didn’t book it backwards in the first place.]

Tickets should have only cost $120 or less, but we procrastinated purchasing (and I fully blame T for this). I think I can get by on spending less than $150 in other vacation spending, depending on whether or not I buy any wine when we go to Napa.   My parents are treating us to a couple things, but I don’t want to let them treat us too much. If I have $150 as my goal, I think it’ll keep me from being too stingy, which is annoying to me and to travel companions.  Most of it will come out of my travel fund, but perhaps some can come out of this month’s entertainment and misc categories.

PS – My check engine light went off, leading me to believe it was just the gas cap or something equally benign. Whew!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2008 10:13 am

    I travel to SF quite often and usually I pay $100 round trip w/ southwest. It is internet special rate and but you need to book 4 weeks in advance.

  2. sjean permalink*
    March 17, 2008 10:19 am

    Yeah… I know it should have been less.

    I’m annoyed we waited so long to book. I wanted to book sooner. But even in advance, I couldn’t find it for less than $120 (with all fees) for March

Leave a Reply

