Skip to content

Getting to the airport

March 19, 2008

One of the most annoying parts of going on trips is getting to/from the airport.  When I lived in Iowa it was about a 20 minute drive, so asking a friend to do it wasn’t a big deal.  Still, I dislike asking for favors.  Parking at the airport was just $5/day, so for short trips I usually just parked and paid.

For this trip, I asked a friend to pick me up Sunday night, but I didn’t request a ride to the airport today.  We aren’t that close and I felt it was an imposition to ask him to leave work early.  I had given him a ride from the airport once before, so now we are “even”.  Or something.

I live really pretty close to the airport, but it still involves either a .7 mile walk + a bus (or 2 buses) to get there.  The online estimate said it would take 30-60 minutes by bus.  Ug.  T lives further, but there is a direct bus for just $4, so he is taking that.  I was going to brave my bus, but decided against it and scheduled a taxi.  It really should be less than $15, but I’m a bit nervous about traffic.

I just wish public transportation was easier and more convenient.  In NYC I took the subway all the way from my friends apartment on wall street to La Guardia.   I felt like such a self-sufficient traveler!  Then again, I would have paid $15 for a taxi if that was all it was going to cost me.

I’ll be out through Sunday, so don’t expect to hear from me until then!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2008 3:09 am

    Living here in Michigan it is very similar. The auto industry obviously doesn’t support mass transit and the mass transit system here is terrible. So, when I had relatives coming here from out of town they have no way of reaching us from the airport without us picking them up or catching an expensive cab.

  2. March 20, 2008 6:48 am

    What subway goes to LaGuardia? I thought you had to take the bus. I agree that this is an irritating (and oft-overlooked, when planning trips) part of travel–my first-choice airport is always JFK because getting there on public transit is so easy.

  3. sjean permalink*
    March 24, 2008 10:33 am

    @EM Maybe I flew out of JFK? Hmmm…. I could check. Actually, thinking back, I think I took subway to a bus station, then took a bus the last bit. It was a bit of a pain overall, but well worth the money saved on a taxi.

    But that is a good travel tip–JFK is more assessable.

Leave a Reply

