Skip to content

Splitting hairs

March 19, 2008

I need a new haircut really badly. I’m considering going to a “hair academy” and getting it cut by students. I used to go to one back home when I was in college. While it took an excruciatingly long time, I was always satisfied with the end result, and even more satisfied with the price.

But do you get what you pay for? It isn’t that I’m completely unwilling to shell out for an amazing haircut, but I’m afraid I’ll go to a real salon, shell out the big bucks, and not even be impressed. Then again, I don’t exactly want to spend 3 hours getting my hair cut. I have been checking yelp.com for reviews and I could just take a leap of faith. But what the heck does “$$” mean as opposed to “$”? Seriously, can’t they just say how much a basic cut will cost me?

Have you ever gone to a hair school? Are you willing to pay more for a (theoretically) better cut?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2008 9:02 am

    For the past year and a half, I’ve gotten my hair cut at a beauty school. It usually takes about an hour…longest 1/5 hours…I really like my hair cut. Plus, $15 for a hair cut where I live is amazing!

  2. March 19, 2008 9:32 am

    I actually haven’t tried a student school but I’d be willing to.

    If I paid for it, I can’t justify spending $50-$100 on a cut :\

    I’d say, go for it.. I wouldn’t pay more for a salon cut because students are supervised and watched carefully. sometimes, more careful

  3. Anne permalink
    March 19, 2008 10:09 am

    I agree with Fabulously Broke, based on my experiences at the Aveda Institute, I get a better haircut than at a salon because the students take so much time to get it right.

  4. March 19, 2008 10:16 am

    I haven’t been able to find one in my area! (I haven’t looked very hard though).

    My experiences with salons have been mostly bad though. I’ve gotten a salon cut 3 times in my life. The first time I came out looking like an old lady (no offense to old ladies with cute hair….or any old lady, actually), I ran home and had my mom fix it (she normally cuts my hair). The second time was a repeat of that, but at a different salon. The 3rd time I went to another salon because I had a $20 off coupon for my birthday. The cut came out pretty good, but I wouldn’t pay $75 for what I got…I’m surprised I even paid $55! Other than that I usually get my mom to cut my hair. Nothing complicated, and it sure beats a pricey disappointment.

  5. March 19, 2008 2:53 pm

    I’ve never had a haircut I was very impressed with. I now cut my own hair or have friends do it. I say give the students a try!

  6. Emily permalink
    March 20, 2008 4:29 am

    I’ve been going to the Aveda Institute in Chinatown in Washington DC. It’s pretty awesome, I think. My haircut is never anything complicated, so I trust them, and it’s always come out ranging from perfectly fine to pretty great. The longest it has taken is about 2 hours, but whatever — time for me to zone out or chat. I’d say go for it!

  7. March 20, 2008 5:03 am

    I pay about $65 (including tip) for my haircut. To me, it’s worth it. I’ve gone to cheaper places in the area but the haircut reflects how cheap it was. One time my hair was totally uneven and I was very unhappy. Plus, they didn’t dry my hair, so I couldn’t even really see how it looked before I was ushered out. Ugh. Horrible experience.

    I usually get my hair cut 2 times a year.I’m trying to be better about that and go 3-4 times a year. To me, getting a haircut that I love is worth $65.

  8. March 20, 2008 5:06 am

    Oh also, when you compare it to men’s haircuts- my husband gets his hair cut once a month and it’s $18 including tip ($19 if he loves it or forgets how much he usually tips). So over 3-4 months, his haircuts are just a bit cheaper than mine, and in the case of not getting my hair cut for 6 months at a time, my haircut is cheaper.

    Just an interesting comparison, IMO, and a way to put the cost of a cut into perspective.

  9. March 23, 2008 5:35 pm

    The beauty school students take way too long for a hairuct – an hour to an hour/half is way too much. Try something in the middle – like a junior stylist at an upscale salon. The cuts there are usually $20-30. I found a training stylist on craigslist in the beauty services section at a upscale place. She charged me $20 for the cut. And she was detailed and efficient.

  10. March 24, 2008 8:24 am

    I have some friends that swear by going to student/training hair school school types of places and others that pay a premium for their cuts ($50 or more). Sadly, maybe because I’m a typical non-observing male I can never notice or distinguish the difference.

    As for me, I’m cheapo so I’ve been cutting my own hair since college. It went horribly bad the first few times, but after a while it got much better.

Leave a Reply

