Skip to content

Dressed to impress

March 26, 2008

I’ve been salivating for some new work clothes ever since I started my new job and moved to a city where the shopping choices are endless. Last night, T drug me to the mall (seriously, it was his idea–he’s trying to update his wardrobe too).While attempting to shop two weekends ago I did not purchase a single thing–the sales were small and picked over, and full price seemed like too much.  However, new sales started at Banana Republic and almost everything was marked down a little bit. Did you know that the prices on the website are sometimes a little lower and that the stores won’t match? Still the in-store selection was much better and obviously there are no shipping costs.

After trying on about 20 things and liking about 10 of them, I purchased 4 items: 2 short sleeve shirts, a cardigan, and a super cute sweater. At an average of $40, the total was about $160, and after tax, a painful $175 for a spring wardrobe update. Still, I’m quite happy with my purchases. The cardigan in particular was much needed (my current ones are old and the longer chunkier style of a couple years ago). Work is COLD so I will wear it often. The other things will get a lot of wear as well.

As far as budgeting goes, that means I’ve used this months remaining budget ($30), next months budget (which I previously upped to $75) and pretty much all of May’s budget as well. Woah! This should be fine, I can last until June or later without shopping.  It is easier for me to get a couple things at once when there are sales. Also,  $100 of my economic stimulus check might go towards work related clothing or other “fun” spending, with the remaining $500 going to the e-fund.

Following my rule of donating at least one older item of clothing for every item brought in, my closet will be faced with some downsizing this weekend.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 27, 2008 2:54 am

    I really like your idea of downsizing the closet when new items come in. I need to do that, I have a ton of old stuff that I hardly ever wear now. I have no problem throwing out stuff in the house, clutter etc, but I hate throwing out clothes.

Leave a Reply

