Skip to content

Job Insecurity

March 28, 2008

The class I longed to skip a few days ago turned out quite fun.  It came about that a lady at my table received her layoff notice that very day, and she shared her story with the group.  She also mentioned that financially, she did not need to work, which made the lay off a bit easier to take, though I’m sure she still felt quite rejected/hurt/awful about it.  Having money in the bank makes those blows sting a bit less.

She went off on a bit of a tirade, claiming that the company was a sinking ship, that our prices were too high, that we could no longer compete.  We also have lost two large contracts recently, though none in my division.  My department in particular is awaiting awards (or downselects) for several contracts.  While I do think her tirade was more emotional than factual, there was some truth there.  It scared me, at least a little.  What if we do lose all the contracts that are in the air?  What are the chances of that?  Do we know how we stack up when compared to our competitors?  Someone does, I’m sure, but not me.  If we win the program I’m on, it is the future of the company.  If we lose it, I’ll have to get on board with something else.

I’ve never worked at a company that wasn’t in a bit of a booming phase.  That isn’t saying much, since my professional experience just started a couple years ago.  When I left my last company, the program I’m on was going downhill.  We were way over budget (and had not yet revealed the extent to our customer) and a little behind schedule.  Still, I felt even if we lost the contract, I’d be able to market myself elsewhere in the company fairly easily.  I had connections.

Is my job secure if we lose the program I’m on?  I really don’t know.  I think it is, but I’m not completely confident.  Honestly, there isn’t much I can do about it if it isn’t.  I’m saving money, being prepared, and doing the best I can.  I’m young, hardworking, and bright.  I’ll be fine.  Right?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2008 12:43 pm

    Right. 🙂 Look, things are unpredictable in life, the best you can do is react fast to what comes at you….

  2. March 28, 2008 3:50 pm

    Right! You’ve got marketable skills, you’re young enough that no one is going to think you’re too stodgy/specialized for their company, and you have money in the bank.

Leave a Reply

