Skip to content

Should I get a new laptop?

April 2, 2008

My parents ran my old laptop into the ground, which I sold to in complete working condition for $200 a year ago.  I would have sold it to them for even less (as it was several years old) but I spent $100 to get the power jack repaired to make it functional.  Actually, my mom handed me $300 cash, and I handed her $100 back.

So, I purchased a new laptop (retail value of about $1000) for about $650 after rebates and a 20% work discount.  My parents are now in the market for a new laptop, and said that if I wanted to sell them mine for $300 or $400, they would take it.  No pressure though, I also could just help them find something new for a similar price.  Oy.

I’ll tell you a secret, I don’t exactly love my new laptop and wouldn’t mind upgrading to this one *or something similar) for an extra $200.  I’ll have to do some research on what my computer would sell for used on ebay and make sure that $400 isn’t ripping off my parents (or me).  I’ll also have to do more research and see what else I can get for around $600.

Do you think I should do it?  This money probably will just detract from my efund savings goal or be subtracted from the economic stimulus check.   Or should I tell them no and help them find a good deal elsewhere?

I’m so tempted!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. feedmittens permalink
    April 2, 2008 10:24 am

    IMO, you’ll spend a lot of time getting the new one up and running with all your software and settings, and that’s just a waste of productivity. Think of not spending the $$ until a year or two from now when you actually need a new machine and find your parents a decent machine on the Craigslist or somewhere similar. Unless, of course, your current machine isn’t fitting your needs.

  2. April 2, 2008 10:29 am

    It takes at most an afternoon to set up a new machine. I have install files for the programs i like saved on an external (in case of a reformat), so I just have to run them all.

    But, good point to consider the time. I have time to set one up if I want, i’m more focused on the $$$

  3. April 2, 2008 1:43 pm

    I think if you are unhappy with your current computer you should go ahead and spend the money. However before so make sure you really like the one you are going to get and it will last you a couple of years. That way you do get your money’s worth. We spend a lot of time on our laptops so I think it’s important to really love what you work on.

  4. April 2, 2008 5:10 pm

    I think you should buy a new laptop, but I personally wouldn’t buy a Thinkpad, since that’s what I have for work (it would feel like I’m always working!). I like Sony, or maybe even Apple. Just curious, why don’t you like your current one? I need to buy new one also, but probably not until next year (I’ve had it for 2.5 years).

  5. April 2, 2008 5:24 pm

    My computer is running vista and is sort of slow and hangs and is slower than I expected (these things probably could be fixed with more ram and using vista readyboog feature). Also, the cntrl key is weirdly placed. Also the case is cracked slightly, but no big deal. I mean, they are stupid reasons sort of, but if I can upgrade for about 200, i really want to!

    Apple’s are (i think) more expensive, and think pads have a good reputation. But yeah, i don’t work on a laptop.

  6. Jeff permalink
    April 2, 2008 7:52 pm

    Buy an Apple, you’ll love it. I have for over 17 years now. 🙂

    You will pay more for new Apple than other computers, however, there are usually great deals on Ebay for recent models. I purchased my Apple laptop off Ebay 3.5 years ago. The computer is 6 years old now and still runs the latest versions of Apple’s OS and my productivity programs without missing a beat.

    I’m of the opinion that the Apple products maintain their ability to run current software for a longer period of time than PC products, thus allowing them to maintain greater relevancy in your life. It would be interesting to figure out a cost/year of an Apple vs. a comparable PC product.

    Good luck with whatever you decide to do.
    Jeff

Leave a Reply

