Skip to content

Price adjustments and Electric Bills

April 3, 2008

I got an email from Banana Republic telling me spring clothes have an additional 20% off.  While in the store about a week and a half ago, the register girl said that we have up to 14 days to collect any additional discounts due to price adjustments.  I think it would amount to roughly $25 if I can locate my receipt and go in.

But will the sales people give me dirty looks?  Have you ever done a price adjustment?  My bigger worry is that I’m not quite certain what I did with that receipt.  The cost of carelessness in my life is ever increasing…

In other financial news, I finally got my first power/water bill since moving on 1/15.  IT is about $75 for a little over 2 months, which seems a little high for my apartment.      I already have primarily CFL’s, but the bright lights in my kitchen are something else.  I think I’ll be extra diligent about unplugging things and lights and see if I can get it down.

The bill is a little confusing.  It says that  $13.64 is past due as of 3/26 (this is my first bill), but there is no late fees (that I can see).  It almost seems as if that $13.64 is from prior to 1/15 and should have been paid by someone other than me.  There is some mysterious “multi-fam bulky item fee”.  I think I’ll give them a quick call before paying.  Or I’ll just pay it and see what next month looks like.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. jay permalink
    April 3, 2008 12:06 pm

    I *love* Price Protectr (http://www.priceprotectr.com/) for that very reason! I also would never hesitate going in for a price adjustment, if its literally worth the time/gas. It’s THEIR policy, after all!

    Call the utility folks! It could be leftover from the previous tenant, and they’re just hoping you won’t bother to protest. If you pay, you’re accepting the bill. Get a energy eval from them, too, if bill continues to seem high to you. Borrow a “Kill A Watt” meter; ALSO one of those testers for wall outlets to make sure wiring is OK.

  2. April 5, 2008 3:19 pm

    I returned to Banana Republic with receipts before and I didn’t get any dirty looks either time. You can’t take a mailer card in and have them retroactively apply it to the purchase, but if clothes in store have been marked down then you get the current price when they scan the bar code on your receipt (just like if you were doing a return without a receipt). 😀 I actually learned that you could do this from a BR clerk, so I don’t think they mind as long as you’re nice about it.

    If you’re nervous about taking the receipt in, it’s helpful to remember that most of the people in the store are working for an hourly wage or are working there because they want the discount on the clothes themselves.

  3. May 28, 2008 6:22 am

    Price adjustments are no big deal. I’ve done it at Gap a few times. They just scan your receipt, and you’re done, basically.

    When I worked at Gap about 8 yrs ago, I would always scoff at the ladies who came in for price adjustments, but I was 16, so coupons and price adjustments weren’t part of my world yet. Try to get in line for a cashier who looks like she is old enough to pay rent.

Trackbacks

  1. Well, April is shot « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

