Skip to content

Live the questions

April 11, 2008

Many twentysomething bloggers have spoke lately about what it is life to try to get through the quarterlife, and why we try to feel in control our lives by controlling our finances. Personal finance isn’t hard. Spend less than you earn, and watch the balances increase. I know that if I save $400 each month, my efund should be about 13k by the end of the year. Easy breezy. I can find answers to my money questions, but what about life questions?

Will the graduate program I applied to accept me? I think they will, but if so, when? It is a distance program, so it is on it’s own wacky schedule and I am tired of waiting.

Will T and I be engaged this summer? It certainly seems that way from conversations and his attitude, but I’ve learned not to try to plan for something like that. Are we ready for this huge next step? Now that it seems so probable, it also seems much scarier. I never worried it would be a mistake, but what if it turns out I’m wrong? How can you know for sure?

Will my parents be ok in their retirement? Or even less certain, will I be ok in mine? Will I even make it to mine?

Will I really get a chance to live abroad in a few years, or is that just something I say I want? Will we really do peace corps in our retirement as we claim, or have I traded that dream in for another?

Does my boss think I’m catching on? Does anyone at work think I’m adding value? What will I be doing in my career in 10 years? Am I smart enough to be successful?

Everyone seems to have it so together, but inside, so many of us are wondering… Am I doing this right?

Have patience with everything unresolved in your heart and to try to love the questions themselves as if they were locked rooms or books written in a very foreign language. Don’t search for the answers, which could not be given to you now, because you would not be able to live them. And the point is to live everything. Live the questions now. Perhaps then, someday far in the future, you will gradually, without even noticing it, live your way into the answer.
~Rilke

There are no guarantees in life, at least not for the stuff that matters. So no, that extra money in the bank is no guarantee of anything. It doesn’t answer any real questions, at least not the important ones. However it sure is a lot better than being confused and wondering and also being broke. 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2008 1:04 pm

    Great post! It’s certainly easier to manage money than to manage your life, at least for many people. It’s more concrete. It’s tough to face those unanswerable questions…thanks for the link BTW!

  2. April 11, 2008 1:20 pm

    Whew, that’s a lot of hardcore questions! your totally right though, at least you don’t have to add in money worries when you’ve got that down.

    But, i DO have an answer for all of your questions you have posted (i’m a psychic, didn’t you know?). The answer to all of them are…….drum roll please….

    YES!
    You’re lucky 🙂

  3. April 11, 2008 1:29 pm

    @Budgets are sexy – Lol, I wish it was so simple!

  4. April 12, 2008 3:23 am

    This line: “However it sure is a lot better than being confused and wondering and also being broke” made me think of Jim Rohn, he’s a motivational speaker from the 80’s-90’s I stumbled on and really started to like.

    “There’s nothing worse than being stupid. Being broke is bad, but being stupid is whats really bad. And being broke and stupid is what’s really really bad. It doesn’t get much worse than that…” – J. R.

    Check out the YouTube clip:

  5. April 14, 2008 6:03 am

    Those are good points

Trackbacks

  1. Food Fight! « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

