Skip to content

Stimulate my savings

April 15, 2008

Even though April had some large expenses, I’m doing pretty well sticking to my budget in those easy to miss categories of groceries and gas.

As far as groceries go, I made these delicious spinach and mushroom lasagna roll ups.  I’m not sure of the exact cost of that particular dish, but I should be able to get through the rest of the week on those for dinners.  It isn’t a frugal dish really (three kinds of cheese!) but I allow for meals like this in my budget.  I also have some veggies and shrimp to make some stir fry once that runs out.  I eat vanilla yogurt with granola every day for breakfast, and got a pretty good deal on both this week.  Lunches have been slightly lacking–tuna sandwich and a banana today.  This is an area where I’m constantly struggling for new ideas.  I also splurged on guava juice ($3) and we have had a few strawberry-guava smoothies.  Delicious!  These are the kinds of things I just can’t do on a $120 budget, but are possible with a small adjustment to $135.  It also helps that my parents fed us dinner Sunday night.

I feel like my gas budget is sort of out of my control.  Prices keep rising and the only way to cut back is to visit T less often.  It is already hard to hang out on the weekdays.  I can go to his place right after work (which can take an hour in traffic, though usually it is more like 15 or 20 minutes), or I wait until traffic dies down (at least 7:30 p.m.).  If I wait for traffic to die down, then by the time I get there it is 8:00 and I’m a wimp who likes to go to bed early, so it is a short visit.  If I do drive over right after work, I get crabby from the traffic and I might average 8 mph for the trip.  Perhaps I’ll try a little flex time to get off early enough that traffic is less of an issue.  Except I wonder how early I’d have to be? I’ve only been getting 18 mpg or so due to this crappy city driving.  I would love to use that as a reason to get a newer super fuel efficient car, but I sincerely doubt that would save me money in the long run.

Anyway, I’m looking towards May, because May is going to be a bright spot in the year.  Here is my plans for my extra income that month:

That makes me much happier than April.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2008 12:51 pm

    Gas prices are hard on all of us. I wish I had a tip to give you… but there really are none that are worth anything. Gas prices just keep going up and we just keep paying them… I’m not sure how high they have to go before we stop. Good luck! May looks bright!

  2. jay permalink
    April 15, 2008 2:42 pm

    – Is public transportation not possible? Where you & “T” could rendezvous at a BART station/whatever?
    – We lucked out getting a used Prius *love it* a few years back thru Craigslist. It helped to have cash on hand, so good reason [as any] to sock away a chunk of change!
    Yay for months with xtra paychecks!

  3. April 15, 2008 2:47 pm

    Public transportation is possible, but inconvenient (L.A. area). We’d have to take buses rather than subways, which really doesn’t avoid traffic, but would avoid some cost. At the expense of time. It’s annoying.

    What price will it take in order for me to seriously take the bus to work? (Two buses, or one bus and one mile walk… meaning getting out of bed earlier!)

  4. April 17, 2008 10:12 am

    It looks like you have your extra income very well allocated!

    I’ve stopped driving my car for in town trips. However, it’s EXTREMELY expensive to visit my bf on the weekends 😦

Leave a Reply

