Skip to content

My economic stimulus is coming later than I thought

April 16, 2008

I was pretty excited because my economic stimulus check was to be direct deposited very early in the schedule. In fact, not to brag, but I was scheduled to be one of the first people in the country to get my share! I filed early and got my refund direct deposited, and managed to procure a SSN with the last 2 digits lower than most other people. I rule, I thought.

Then I came across this little tidbit of information on the (surprisingly helpful) IRS website:

I used Direct Deposit to split my refund betweeen several accounts when I filed my tax return. What will happen to my Stimulus Payment? Will it go to just one of the accounts?
A. If you elected to split your refund between several accounts, you will not receive your Stimulus Payment by Direct Deposit. Instead, you will receive a paper check.

Yes, it is true. I split my payment into two accounts to save myself having to transfer the appropriate portion to checking and savings. I am surprised that the government wouldn’t just put it in either account, but I suppose there is some logic to it. They aren’t sure where I want it, so they will send me a check and I can decide. Now I’m sad, I’ll have to wait an additional two weeks, and a few more days to get it into the appropriate accounts. I might as well have a SSN of 999-99-9999. I guess I don’t rule after all. (Also the three e’s in betweeen are copied from the website.)

In other financial news, my scarcely used Wells Fargo credit card (and by scarcely, I mean I might have used it once last year) tried to charge me $24 to be enrolled in their rewards program. I got the charge removed, but they warned me “all current rewards are forfeited”. I wasn’t too upset about that.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2008 8:58 am

    Bummer! I just realized I won’t be getting mine until 2 weeks after the week that I’d originally thought….because those dates are only valid for returns that were filed BEFORE April 15th (mine went out late last week).

    Oh well. =[

  2. April 17, 2008 3:43 am

    I think I get mine pretty early. Not the most early SSN group but the second round, and I filed/got direct deposit in one account very early on. It’s going to be nice to have the extra money.

    My car yells at me if I don’t put my seatbelt on before starting the car. No wait, so as soon as the engine starts I get yelled at. There are these annoying BEEP BEEPs that continue until you buckle up. I really hate them. I would put my seatbelt on right away anyways, and the “reminders” are really high pitched. Sorry to hear about your ticket.

    The big police raid here is cell phone usage.

  3. April 17, 2008 10:09 am

    Tickets are really expensive! One of my coworkers just paid about $375 in parking tickets/towing fees. Another coworker had a speeding ticket for $250! I guess I need to be careful not to get any tickets on my bike 😉

  4. farmwife permalink
    April 17, 2008 3:10 pm

    So they go ahead and direct deposit you if that’s what you did on your tax return? I don’t deal with the taxes at all– it goes to the accountant!

    Bummer about the ticket 😦

  5. Andrew Stevens permalink
    April 17, 2008 5:47 pm

    Farmwife, that’s correct. I had to pay the IRS a ridiculous amount of money, but I included my direct deposit information anyway so they could direct deposit the check.

  6. April 18, 2008 8:10 am

    Tickets can be expensive, but if my Google skills are accurate, the max fine for seatbelt was in the $80 range. The cop didn’t know the dollar amount. A seatbelt is in a different category than speeding, but wow, $250? Ridiculous. And the 375 in parking/towing? OUCH. But I would imagine a single parking ticket would be much less (if no towing was involved).

    Cell phones are banned starting in June or July… Hmph.

  7. April 21, 2008 7:37 pm

    Tickets suck, I just popped one for (slightly) speeding… But as one commenter told me, it’s a stupid-tax, thanks for paying your share 😉

Leave a Reply

