Skip to content

More Frugal Hair Care

April 21, 2008

I did it! I colored my hair!

For the past year and a half I had been going to a great salon in my previous town and getting fabulous cuts and highlights about every four months. It usually ran about $120, a little more if I got the eyebrows done too. Highlights look great the first time you do them. But they are so much upkeep, and after doing them for a long time, they look less and less great.

After moving to L.A., I hadn’t done anything with my hair.   I was in dire need of a trim, so I found a legit salon that offered $20 first time hair cuts. It isn’t that I won’t pay a little more for a great cut, but I was frightened of paying a lot for a mediocre cut. If the stylist impressed me enough, I probably would have went back for full price. But she didn’t. She was ok, but nothing great. Still, I paid $30 (I’m not going to tip off the discount price!) and was on my merry way with healthier hair and new side swept bangs.

Next step, color. I asked the salon price of an all over color: $85. No thanks! We picked out some store dye for about $8 and matched my natural color quite well, thanks to Ts meticulous color selection.  Unfortunately we accidentally got the 28 wash box, so I’ll revisit in a month and get the permanent color.

This hair should be much easier to maintain, and eventually much healthier. Also, much cheaper, allowing me to stick to my “Personal” budget much more easily.  Now I just have to find a stylist that I actually like, but I can wait a few months for that.

Will I go back to coloring my hair? Maybe. I think before I get married I’d want to have highlights and a really great color/cut. Other than that, I’m content with my natural color. And since I’m not even engaged, that really isn’t a big consideration.  Now is a great time to go back to my natural light brown color.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2008 10:37 am

    Getting away from hair color was my biggest hurdle. I never really liked box color…Why are you coloring your hair close to your natural color?

  2. April 21, 2008 11:08 am

    Kudos..

    I USED to colour my hair dark brown but now I just keep it natural and I actually like it better 🙂 It’s not as dry as before

  3. April 21, 2008 12:27 pm

    @SavingDiva – because it is (was) not my natural color and I wanted it to be. If I color it my natural color, I’ll never have to color again.

    I would prefer a professional color, but not for an extra $50-$70.

  4. April 23, 2008 2:10 pm

    I recently went back to my natural color too and after the first week of trying to get use to it, I love it! You will definitely be saving money with this one!

Leave a Reply

