Skip to content

Weekend spending

May 4, 2008

My sister was in town for a long weekend, and I set aside $100 to spend while she was here, just in case.  My parents were also here, so they treated for most of the meals and we didn’t do things that cost money.  I spent $60 on a meal, about $10 on some side dishes for a barbecue, and another $13 for a small present for my most adorable little nephew.  I have $17 left that will go back into the budget for May.

I’m really glad that I set the money aside, because it allowed me to feel free to spend whatever was necessary to ensure that I didn’t spoil their trip by being less than generous.

I also received some of the rebates I was due for my cable service.  I was supposed to get $50 for interenet, $50 for cable, a $39.95 rebate for a modem (which I sold because it wasn’t needed), and another $40 for the modem.  So far, I received a $50 and the $39.95 one.  The website has the second $40 shown as processed, so that should show up someday soon.   The last one is a mystery.

Do you always receive the rebates you are due?  I’m always dubious that they will “lose” my submission and not give me the money.  I almost sent them by certified mail, so I would have proof!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2008 8:07 am

    That sounds like a great weekend, and it’s such a luxurious feeling to be able to have money left over, isn’t it?

    Hmm, of the hundreds of rebates I’ve done over the past four years, I’ve only ever lots one $5 rebate. I do make a photocopy of all rebates and related paperwork and highlight the contact information just in case, though.

  2. May 5, 2008 8:10 am

    I keep copies of everything…and after the 6-8 weeks (or whatever time frame mentioned), I start calling and e-mailing. Even if the rebate is $20, it’s MY $20 🙂

  3. May 5, 2008 8:14 am

    I have photocopies too. I read some reviews of this company and people say they claim they lose them all the time. Even if I have a copy, I can’t prove that I sent it by required date. I’m just sketched out by rebate companies

    I’ll give it some more time then give them a call

  4. May 6, 2008 3:22 pm

    Sounds like a fun weekend, guilt-free too 🙂

    For my rebates, it depends what the amount is for. I will always ask for a duplicate receipt so I can keep one and send the other one in. I’d start emailing and/or calling after 8 weeks too…….

    I heard a lot of people say that they will disqualify a rebate if there is one tiny little thing wrong on the form…….

Leave a Reply

