Skip to content

Energy Saving Light Bulbs

May 5, 2008

I changed all my standard light bulbs to CFLs quite some time ago.  In fact, I moved 3 CFL bulbs with me from the Midwest to California!  They are expensive! When I bought myself a new floor lamp, I busted out something close to $10 to get a 3-way CFL bulb for my bedroom (I don’t have overhead lighting).

In an effort to improve my environmental impact in May, I decided to finish the job and replace my non-standard bulbs as well.  I figured some of my specialty bulbs would be a little costly, but I spent 20 minutes in home depot today staring at their light bulb selection.  Then I went home empty handed.

I have track lighting over my kitchen counter.  Three bulbs I’m attempting to replace are type PAR16 halogen flood lights, 60W each.  They are on a dimmer switch.  The track lighting piece that I screw the bulb into says I can only use the PAR16 type, so no substitutions allowed.  After much Googling, It seems like my only option might be a Par16 LED light, available for over $20 each, plus shipping.  I just don’t think that is reasonable.

I guess I’ll have to focus on the bathroom for my CFL efforts, unless anyone has any suggestions on a more energy efficient Par16 light for $10 or less.  Maybe instead of using all three lights, I could see how much light I have using just two of the 60W bulbs.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2008 8:11 am

    Wow that does seem very expensive. I’m trying to replace all my light blubs as they break.

  2. May 6, 2008 3:20 pm

    I bought a box of 8 and only replaced 3 of them so far… I’m also waiting for the regular ones to burn out first.

    Have you seen a reduction in your power bill since you changed yours?

  3. May 6, 2008 3:28 pm

    @CanadianSaver – Not really. I had gradually changed them at my old apartment, but my bill was very driven by electric heat use, so I couldn’t see the difference.

    Since I have been in my new apartment, I’ve only received one bill, and I haven’t changed my bulbs since I moved.

    For my bill, maybe I need to be more dilgent about turning off my modem/wireless during the day

Leave a Reply

