Skip to content

Female Finance: Make-up purchase of 2008

May 13, 2008

I spent $41 on make-up over the weekend.  I haven’t bought new make-up since 2006.  That is probably a slight exaggeration (think $5 mascara or lipstick now and then) but when it comes to powder/foundation, I’m serious.  I spent $15 on Sonia Kashuck Mineral Make-up set (powder, blush, concealer) about $12 on Physicians Formula tinted moisturizer (though I lusted for Stila brand ), $11 for a new powder brush.  I researched the products before I bought them and so far am quite happy with my purchases.

I spent $20 on two Lush solid shampoo bars plus a ‘free’ case.  I bet they get almost everyone on that “if you buy two this $6 case is free” deal.  This was mostly just a treat, but also, I was way off when I thought my current shampoo was organic.  Vegan is not the same as organic (obviously) and also doesn’t mean SLS-free.  Hmph.

I also spent $50 to chip in for spa day for Mom.  We don’t always buy extravagant presents like this, but this year we did.  Usually I get something much smaller:  a book + bubble bath is standard.  (Actually I spent $150, but the other $100 will be reimbursed.)

If I didn’t pay attention to my finances, I think it would be quite easy to walk into Sephora on a weekly basis and buy product after product.  I wouldn’t tire of it, and I’m not what you’d consider a high maintenance sort of girl.

However, I don’t buy many products, even though sometimes I want to.  Each of the items I purchased felt like a treat.  I’ve been feeling squished by my budget goals, and was happy to allocate a little bit of my extra paycheck and economic stimulus towards non-essential beauty products.  Some may argue that make-up is essential, but I’m not convinced.  (It depends on your job though.)  Shampoo is less debatable (though some DO debate), but $10 bars aren’t necessary.   Not necessary, but a fun luxury.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2008 10:09 am

    WOW 🙂 I can’t wait for your reviews, esp on the Lush shampoo bars

    Sounds like a hot haul…

  2. May 13, 2008 2:50 pm

    facial pics?

  3. May 14, 2008 9:21 am

    I bought the Godiva and Karma Kormba. What types of shampoo bars did you get?

Trackbacks

  1. May Green Initiative « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

