Skip to content

I want. . .

May 19, 2008

I want…

  • At least one pair of new shorts for summer
  • A food processor (but can’t quite justify, as I have a blender)
  • One grapefruit spoon, to better eat the lovely grapefruits picked this weekend from my uncle’s grapefruit tree in Arizona (actually, this has been on my list for a month)
  • A black cardigan (work is often cold)
  • Proper storage containers for flour and sugar
  • Nicer brown work shoes
  • More button up work shirts
  • Yoga pants
  • One summer dress

I keep a list of things that I would like to buy, but don’t necessarily need to buy.  Sometimes after sitting on my list for a few weeks, I decide I don’t need them anymore.  Most of these things have been on my list for a long time, and I still haven’t purchased them.   My wish list is helpful when birthday/Christmas comes around, and people ask me for ideas.  It also helps me to buy the clothes I need most while sticking to my clothes budget.

This month, I think I will buy the grapefruit spoon (since I just got fresh grapefruits) and look again at food processors and flour/sugar storage.  I will not buy the clothing items (unless I find an unbelievable sale), because I already purchased a swimsuit this month.  Next month I’ll focus on the shorts and the work shoes, even though a summer dress is more fun.

Fellow frugal friends, do you think a food processor is a superfluous kitchen appliances for a tiny kitchen, or do have one and couldn’t live without it?

21 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2008 9:07 am

    You should look into those mini Cuisinart food processors. (http://www.amazon.com/Cuisinart-Mini-Prep-Processor/dp/B00007KJJS) We have one although it doesn’t get much/any use. (It has a burning smell when the motor runs)

    It’s a great size though, very portable and easy to move around. Not very practical if you want to process a large amount of stuff.

  2. Becca permalink
    May 19, 2008 9:21 am

    I want one, too. But to be honest, I haven’t found anything I absolutely must use a food processor for rather than the blender or the mixer, so I haven’t been outrageously tempted to buy one. It’s been haunting my “to buy” list for a while, though.

  3. May 19, 2008 10:30 am

    I have one…and I don’t use it at all! 🙂

  4. May 19, 2008 10:56 am

    I’d use a food processor.. but it depends on what you normally eat.

    On my list is white jeans… but I can’t even find a good pair of jeans let alone WHITE ones *sigh*

  5. May 19, 2008 1:39 pm

    Do you have the chance to check out thrift stores or yard sales for the food processor? I think my parents mini one cost less than five bucks at a thrift store.

  6. May 19, 2008 1:50 pm

    @E.C. Not a bad idea. Yard sales I’m just not sure about, however, a thrift store might be a viable option. I just want a small model (3 cup) which seem to run about $30-$50.

    I keep running across food processor in recipes, but so far a blender has worked fine. It probably will continue to work fine…

    This sounds like a good summer recipe: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Chilled-Tomato-and-Avocado-Soup/Detail.aspx

  7. May 19, 2008 2:26 pm

    My wife and I got by on a blender for quite a while. we received a small food processor as a gift, and have found it works much better for certain tasks. With a little effort, though, the blender always did the trick. If you can find a good deal or receive one as a gift and think you would use it a lot, then go for it. Otherwise, get by with the blender.

  8. Jeff permalink
    May 19, 2008 3:38 pm

    Ok, I have to ask….is there really such a thing as Yoga pants?

  9. May 19, 2008 8:22 pm

    The storage containers (and the grapefruit spoon, as you noted) sound like about the best deal. They probably won’t set you back too much, plus they will preserve your flour and sugar for many moons. Good luck with it.

  10. May 20, 2008 8:55 am

    @Jeff – Of course yoga pants are a real thing. Sort of like tight athletic pants. Similar to running pants. Totally unnecessary, but I want them!

    Hmm, last night I got antsy and paid $8 for 8 grapefruit spoons. I couldn’t find a single one anywhere except online (then add shipping) Oh well, life goes on.

  11. Sarah permalink
    May 20, 2008 9:10 am

    Old Navy has really cheap button-downs! Their “Classic Button-Front” shirts are decent quality, and (for me, at least) have a great cut. Definitely go to a store to try one on, though, because they take vanity sizing to an art form.

  12. May 20, 2008 9:15 am

    @Sarah – I’ve been relatively unimpressed with old navy’s work clothes (though I do buy their casual clothes and sweaters). The cut is ok, but they wrinkle easily and don’t look nice on me. However, it has been awhile since I’ve tried them, maybe I’ll give them another shot.

    Speaking of vanity sizing, I had a heck of a time buying a swimsuit from victorias secret. I usually wear 2/4 and S or M, but they say size S is 6-8 and XS is 2-4, and XXS is zero. XXS? Seriously? I’m never a six, yet I’m very rarely XS either. Confusing.

  13. May 20, 2008 5:20 pm

    your wishlist is similar to mine…Kitchen supplies and clothes! And the items themselves are pretty similar…storage containers, food processors…and i definitely want more work clothes/shoes.

  14. May 20, 2008 6:05 pm

    I have a bright idea. SavingDiva’s moving, getting rid of stuff, and doesn’t use her food processor. Stacking Pennies wants one. Do we have a potential connection here? 🙂 I guess it depends on why SavingDiva doesn’t use hers….

  15. May 20, 2008 8:46 pm

    I resisted the last two years on the food processor. The blender seems to do double duty for peanut butter, pesto, sauces and smoothies. And I haven’t felt the need to buy one. The food processor would be great for chopping and prepping vegetables which are time consuming and painful.

    A grapefruit spoon is awesome. I got mines at Safeway probably about 10 years ago. It was part of some promotion or taped along with the grapfruit. The zigzag edges are perfect for cutting out bits of fruit.

  16. May 21, 2008 8:33 am

    SP,

    I have to share a conversation my family had at the dinner table last night. It made me laugh.

    Wife: “I did Yoga today at the gym.”

    Me: “Hey that sounds great. Do you need some Yoga Pants.”

    9 yo Daughter: “Oh yes, Daddy. I’ve seen Yoga Pants before. They are really nice. You should buy Mommy some.”

    Looks like I need a pair as well now. 🙂

  17. May 21, 2008 8:51 am

    @Jeff – haha, looks like your wife has an ally!

    Not only are yoga pants real, you can pay $60+ for them. You also could pay $20 or so.

  18. May 25, 2008 2:25 pm

    We just recently bought our first food processor, and it’s pretty fun to have. My complaint is that we have to clean it. One more thing to clean = less likely for it to be used.

    I second the idea about buying one secondhand. Have you looked on eBay? Someone was just telling me you can get brand-new KitchenAid stand-up mixers on eBay for a dramatically reduced price.. probably true for any kitchen stuff. Good luck!

  19. Kate permalink
    May 27, 2008 12:21 pm

    I wanted a food processor for a long time also — I like to make hummus and pesto and such, and the blender just wasn’t doing it for me (maybe it was the blender I was using — but air pockets kept forming on the bottom near the blades). I had mentioned to my family I was looking for one and my grandma found one at a yard sale for $5!! It is AT LEAST 6 cups, if not 10 (too lazy to go look). Craigslist and Freecycle are good places to look too.
    I’ve found that the little 3 cup processors are always just a bit too small for what I want to do — especially if you like to make bigger portions so you have leftovers.

Trackbacks

  1. Christmas gifts (revisited) « Stacking Pennies
  2. I want… (reprise) « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

