Skip to content

Food spending and layoffs part 2

May 22, 2008

I bought fig jam at Whole Foods yesterday ($4), so I’m down to $30 in groceries for the rest of the month. Why fig jam? I was in Phoenix last weekend and ate at this cute restaurant that served various bruschetta, and I thought I’d recreate their apple, brie, and fig jam version. I still should be able to meet my $145 goal if I can control myself. I’ve been really into trying new recipes lately, but with just $30 left, I think any new creations will have to wait until next month. I’m certainly not acting like someone who is participating in a grocery challenge! (I also want to make this, but I’m unwilling to purchase a tart pan at this point.)

Oh, I also made this cold Tomato and Avocado soup earlier this week (alas, in my blender–a food processor just isn’t in the cards right now). The grocery cost was probably about $15 (avocados were expensive) and it made a huge batch. I’ve ate it for lunch every day, along with some other things (namely Trader Joe’s meatballs). It’s healthy and light, but not quite filling enough for a complete meal.

I have not yet signed up for the June dining out challenge (just procrastinating I guess), but I suspect that it will be pretty easy for me. Lately I’d rather cook than go out to eat. I think I’ll set the bar at $60 (down from original $75), which will allow me to treat T and I to at least one average meal out, then maybe some random Subway or In-N-Out if we get lazy.

Regarding yesterday’s post about layoffs, my manager stopped by yesterday and specifically told me that I would not be subject to layoff at this time (or any time in the near future). From what I gather, this issue might come up again in January, but that is far enough away that I can’t spend time being anxious about it now. The notices are also 60 days, which isn’t that long, but long enough that looking for a new job before you receive one might not be necessary (do you agree with that thought?)

I sit near to two managers and the walls are thin (earplugs are necessary at times). I overheard two people from other groups get layed off late yesterday afternoon. It was quite an unsettling way to end the day (and very distracting).

Well, it is time for me to leave for work. I hope I don’t have to hear that again today.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2008 6:24 am

    you don’t need a tart dish! do it as a galette — http://i.timeinc.net/recipes/i/recipes/ck/02/03/apple-marzi-ck-451621-l.jpg

    just fold over the edges of the puff pasty around the filling — it’s a free form tart that’s rustic-looking and equally delicious!

    also, i am very happy to hear that your job is secure — i think we all are really ready for our economy to recover!

  2. May 22, 2008 6:59 am

    Thanks Katy! I was going to see if I could find alternatives, but you provided it for me! It looks very delicious!

  3. CookiePie permalink
    May 22, 2008 4:18 pm

    I’m in a similiar possible. After 11 months at the job, boss has a long discussion with me about my job performance. He explains I am not meeting expectations and that this job might not be right for me. Yet he has a difficult time explaining the improvements I can do. Frankly, I felt I’m a outstanding performer and news like this after 11 months to me is alarming. We don’t have much of a relationship on a personal level. So I feel that as cause him to blown up minor job duties into big ones. The duties brought up I met but he claims not according to his standards. Well, the stricking thing is he said several times this job might not be right for me. Well, I will just have to do my best and try my hardest. But I feel this is a political differences and I am just not wanted. I do not know how much time I have left at the job or if they intend to lay me off. Some thoughts in my mind now are work my ass off, brush up my resume, and be very careful the next few days if I am even allow there.

Leave a Reply

